LibGuides: Chlapaty & Butler Fellows: Research Resources

Helpful Links

Databases by Subject
Need a suggestion for databases to try? Ask Your Librarian!
Databases by Title
This link takes you to a list of all of our databases organized alphabetically. Each database has a brief description of its content.
Apex & Student Research guide
Information about annual APEX celebration of student research, tips for posters/presentations, and lists of student-friendly conferences & journals.
Library Webpage
Find books & articles, get help, & more!
DigitalUD
Where your project will be shared with the world! See past Chlapaty projects here. Note that each scholar has a unique link for his/her research, which can be placed in a resume.

Citation Examples

APA Citation Guide
Use APA for the Social Sciences, Natural, and Health Sciences
MLA Citation Guide
Use MLA for Humanities

Finding a source full-text from a citation

Determine what kind of source it is. Is it a book chapter? A journal article?
If it is a book, look in the catalog to see if we own it or if you need to Interlibrary Loan it (request it from another library).
If it is an article, use the Journal List to search for the journal title to see which database it is in. If we don't own it, use the Find It links to request the title. If it's not in a database, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article.

Some citations may use an abbreviated form of the journal title. Not sure which journal to search for? Look it up in one of the indexes linked below!

Databases: Interdisciplinary

Library databases are a great place to find scholarly journal articles or other sources for your paper. Each database contains articles on topics within different subject areas. If the full text isn’t right there, click the "Find It" link. If we don’t have the article, you can request it from another library by clicking the “get this article or book chapter” link. (The turnaround time on this is usually about 1-3 days.)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A database of articles on a wide variety of subjects, both scholarly and non-scholarly. If there is no full text PDF or HTML, click the Find It link to get to the full text and/or request it through interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of articles and book chapters on a wide variety of subjects, both scholarly and non-scholarly. This database is completely full text.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedia entries and dictionaries for background information on a wide variety of subjects.

Databases: Science Specific

BioOne This link opens in a new window
Search a broad selection of the full-texts, peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by American Institute of Biologial Sciences (AIBS) member societies and other closely related organizations.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Summaries of the world's literature in psychology, including about 9,900 international journals, books, chapters of books, dissertations, and technical reports. 1887 to the present. Updated weekly. PsycArticles contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1985 to present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: 1) The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE; 2) Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; 3) Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
A sports-specific database. Don't get freaked out that most of it isn't full-text. Just use the Find It button to request a copy and we'll email it to you in about 2 days.

Databases: Social Sciences

So you've decided to venture beyond ASP and JSTOR? Congrats!! We promise these social science specific databases are just as easy to master! In fact most of them look exactly like ASP! Exciting, no? All of the search engines listed below are centered around a particular subject area. Pick the one that best fits your topic.

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
A sociology specific database, it contains just the scholarly articles about sociology and criminal justice topics.

PsycINFO
This one is all about psychology. Remember, there is a lot of overlap between sociology and psychology topics.
ERIC
ERIC is our education specific search engine.
Business Source Premier
Another Source Premier, this one is all about the business world.

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
A sports-specific database. Don't get freaked out that most of it isn't full-text. Just use the Find It button to request a copy and we'll email it to you in about 2 days.

Your Librarian

Contact your librarian anytime. Your librarian can help you:

Find information for your project
Request books or articles the UD library doesn't own
Track trends over time in your field of research
Find out about research methods in your field
Learn how to effectively use specialized library materials and tools
Incorporate & cite sources in your project

Becky Canovan
Asst. Director of Public Services
Librarian liaison for:
Aviation, Business, Core Curriculum, DART, English, Fine & Performing Arts, History/Politics, HWS, Math, Seminary
Email: bcanovan@dbq.edu
Office Phone: (563) 589-3649

Sarah Slaughter
Reference & Instruction Librarian
Librarian liaison for:
Communication, Criminal Justice, DNAS, Education, Nursing, PA, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology
Email: sslaughter@dbq.edu
Office Phone: (563) 589-3645

Vance M. Thomas
Library Director
Librarian liaison for:
Seminary
Email: v mthomas@dbq.edu
Office Phone: (563) 589-3215