Skip to main content

Physician Assistant Resources: Home

Charles C. Myers Library

Medical Terminology Tools

Search acronyms & abbreviations: 
http://www.medilexicon.com/

Free self-paced courses/tutorial: https://www.dmu.edu/medterms/

Librarian Evaluation

Point of Care Resources

The following resources are designed to provide easily accessible, current, evidence-based information to healthcare professionals at the point of need. These are all available both on and off-campus. Mobile apps are available for each.

ClinicalKey (Elsevier): ClinicalKey is a point-of-care resource for health care professionals designed to provide clinicians with answers quickly. ClinicalKey includes a wide range of content types to satisfy clinical information needs: books (1,000+), journals (500+), videos (13,000+), practice guidelines (2,000+), images, patient education handouts, and drug monographs. Includes Netter's anatomical illustrations and other anatomical atlases. To use the mobile app you will need to register for an account. You can do this by clicking on the "register" link in the upper right hand corner.

UpToDate (Wolters Kluwer): UpToDate is a large online medical textbook containing short, well-written discussions of medical topics in internal medicine, pediatrics, ob/gyn and family medicine. Review articles are written by an experts in the field, and are designed to provide a quick way to get up to speed. Approximately 40% of the content is updated every four months. An excellent background resource for students and clinicians interested in efficiently filling holes in their knowledge base. To access UpToDate off campus and to use the mobile app you will need to register for an UpToDate account on campus. You can do this by clicking on the "register" link in the upper right hand corner.

AccessMedicine (McGraw-Hill): Provides full-text of 60 of the top current clicial textbooks including Harrison's Online and Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment. In addition, AccessMedicine offers a video/audio database, image database (with thousands of photos/illustrations), interactive self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools. This resource is available both on and off-campus, and can be downloaded as a mobile app. To use the app, register for an account by clicking on "sing in" in the upper right hand corner, and "Create a MyAccess Profile."

Evidence-Based Medicine Article Databases

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR): CDSR is a database of systematic reviews created by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international group of experts. Using a strict methodology, the group develops systematics reviews of primary research, designed to answer PICO questions on therapy and prevention interventions. They also assess the accuracy of diagnostic tests depending on the given contexts.

PubMed (National Center for Biotechnology Information & National Library of Medicine): An interface to search the MEDLINE database of articles and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.

PubMed Clinical Queries: Clinical Queries is a feature of PubMed that helps clinicians find systematic reviews and other evidence-based articles. 

Your Librarian

Kate Kitchens's picture
Kate Kitchens
Contact:
Charles C. Myers Library
Room 107
kkitchens@dbq.edu
563.589.3849

Chat with a librarian now!!

Available hours are the same as Reference Desk hours.