Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physician Assistant Resources: Tutorials

Point of Care Resource Overviews

Point of Care Resource Tutorials

*Access UpToDate, ClinicalKey, and AccessMedicine from the PA Resources Guide Home Page.

Getting Full Text in PubMed

In order to link PubMed to the Charles C. Myers Library's collections, you must access PubMed from the PA Resource Guide, Database A-Z list, or Databases by Subject list.

When you click on the title of an article from the results list, you will find "Full Text Links" to the right of the title. 

PubMed Full Text Links Screenshot

Under "Full Text Links" you will often find a publisher link (which will link you out to the article publisher's page where you will be asked to pay for the full text), sometimes you will find a PMC Full Text link (this will take you to full text in the PubMed Central open source database), and a red circle that says "Find It" (this is the interlibrary loan link, which will either take you to another article UD subscribes to with the full text or a link to request the item through interlibrary loan). If you request an article through interlibrary loan, you will receive a PDF of the article in your UD email inbox typically within 1-3 business days. 

How to Retrieve Full Text Requested via Interlibrary Loan

To retrieve articles you've requested via ILL, you can either click the link in the email you received about it, or use the direct link on the library homepage.

On the next page, you'll click the Illiad Interlibrary Loan System link and log in using your UD username and password. Once logged in, you'll click the "Articles or Book Chapters Received" link on the left hand side. To view the document, click on the PDF icon in the View column. Unless you delete them, these will stay in your account for one year.

Database Tutorials

*Access PubMed and Cochrane Library from the PA Resources Guide home page under Evidence-Based Medicine Article Databases.

Getting Full Text in Cochrane

Articles in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are all full text. However, trials, protocols, editorials, and other articles need to be requested through interlibrary loan by logging into the interlibrary loan system, clicking under "New Request" on "Articles," filling out the boxes with the red asterisk on the form, and clicking "submit request." You should receive a PDF in your UD email within 1-3 business days.

Cochrane Systematic Reviews Full Text

Finding Books

The library catalog contains records for books (physical and ebooks), movies (DVDs and streaming video), board games, etc. The catalog also shows materials other libraries own which you can request via interlibrary loan (this doesn't apply to e-books).