Skip to Main Content

Seminary Library Resources: Lexicons & Dictionaries

Tips for requesting a portion of a lexicon

Because lexicons are organized alphabetically by entry in the language of origin, please identify in the Notes field of the ILL request form which word you are looking for.

Lexicons

A Concise Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament by William L. Holladay (Editor)
Call Number: REF PJ 4833 .H6
A Greek-English Lexicon by R. Scott; P. G. Glare (Editor); Roderick McKenzie (As told to); A. A. Thompson (As told to); H. G. Liddell (Compiled by); Henry Stuart Jones (Editor); P. G. W. Glare (As told to)
Call Number: Ref PA 445 .E5 L6 1996
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by Frederick William Danker (Editor); Walter Bauer
Call Number: Ref PA 881 .B38 2000
The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament by L. Koehler; W. Baumgartner; J. J. Stamm
Call Number: Ref PJ 4833 .K5813 2001
New Brown-Driver-Briggs-Gesenius Hebrew-English Lexicon of the Old Testament by Francis Brown (Editor); S. R. Driver (Editor); Charles A. Briggs (Editor)
Call Number: PJ 4833 .B73 1979

Tips for requesting a portion of a dictionary

Please note which entry/term you are looking for in the Notes field of the ILL request form.
If you can find a copy of the table of contents or index via Google to confirm there is an entry on your topic prior to requesting that would be helpful.
If we cannot easily determine which entry you are looking for, we may scan a portion of the index to confirm which entry prior to scanning, so please check your UD email frequently.

Dictionaries

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by David Noel Freedman (Editor); Allen C. Myers (Editor); Astrid B. Beck (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BS 440 .E44 2000
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by David Noel Freedman; Anchor Bible Staff
Call Number: Ref BS 440 .A54 1992
6 volumes. A very complete dictionary.
New Bible Dictionary by Donald J. Wiseman (Editor); J. I. Packer (Editor); I. Howard Marshall (Editor); A. R. Millard (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BS 440 .N42 1996
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible - A-C by Katharine Doob Sakenfeld (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BS 440 .N445 2006
5 volumes
Also available electronically
Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation by John Hayes (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BS 500 .D5 1999
2 volumes. A dictionary of interpreters and biblical interpretation through the ages.
The Oxford Companion to the Bible by Bruce M. Metzger (Editor); Michael David Coogan (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BS 440 .M434 1993

Anchor Bible Dictionary Excerpt

Excerpt from Anchor Bible Dictionary