ATLA Religion Database
Comprehensive database for religious and theological scholarship. Contains citations from 600+ international journal articles, plus full-text for around 60+ titles. Also indexes book reviews, multi-authored works, and the Methodist Reviews Index.
Searching EBSCO databases (like ATLA)
Academic Search Premier is a general database that contains both popular and scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines and sources. Great place to start if you need to confirm the viability of a topic.
The tips in this video will apply to most other EBSCO databases as well, including SocINDEX, ERIC, , and more. Subject specific databases like those may have some special features like unique limiters, but otherwise they will function the same way. The name of the database will be listed above the search bar:
Where to Find Related Articles
Each database is going to have a different focus and strength. To be succesful, you are going to have to try more than one of these.
- Academic Search This link opens in a new windowA database that covers all disciplines plus news magazines.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowWorking on an education-related research question? Try this education specific database.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAnother general database. This doesn't have subject headings and only searches full-text. The more words you search the fewer results you'll get.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowLooks and functions just like SocINDEX, but with a psychology focus. Remember, there is a lot of overlap between sociology and psychology topics. Getting an error? Check out this video on how to access PsycInfo.
- New York Times (Available through Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Searching JSTOR
JSTOR is a general database that contains primarily full-text scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines. It differs from other UD databases in the fact that it searches the entire full-text of the articles, but has few options for limiting searching and no subject headings. This database is particularly useful when you already know some specifics about your topic.