LibGuides: EVS247: Environmental Chemistry: Find Articles

Browsing all Library Databases

To the right are a few of the library databases specifically for the sciences. If you would like to explore other databases you can search our Databases by Title. The library has also organized the Databases by Subject, using this page you can look for the databases relating to Science, Technology, and Health.

Finding an article full-text from a citation

Determine what kind of source it is. Is it a book chapter? A journal article?
If it is a book, look in the catalog or WorldCat to see if we own it or if you need to Interlibrary Loan it.
If it is an article, use the Journal List to search for the journal title to see which database it is in. If we don't own it, use Find It to request the title. If it's not in a database, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article.

Databases: Background Information

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a comprehensive database for scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines including the sciences.
JSTOR
JSTOR includes articles regarding the life sciences and provides full text access to core journals in the social sciences, the humanities, and the sciences as well as journals in biology, ecology, health, geography, law, mathematics, and statistics.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources to find definitions, statistics, images, etc.

Databases: Environmental Science Specific

GreenFile
GreenFile offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
BioOne
Search a broad selection of the full-texts, peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) member societies and other closely related organizations.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: 1) The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE; 2) Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; 3) Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.