LibGuides: COM101: Basic Speech Communication: Persuasive Speech

Class videos

Policy research

Government Data Sources

Nonpartisan Think Tanks and Other Policy Research Resources

Brookings Institution
National Bureau of Economoic Research
Pew Research Center
RAND Corporation
Public Agenda
National Conference of State Legislators - Policy Research
American Enterprise Institute
Conservative-leaning policy research
Economic Policy Institute
Liberal-leaning policy research
ProCon.org
Helpful for exploring multiple sides of an issue - check out the sources they cite

Student Policy Resources

Chronicle of Higher Education
Diverse: Issues in Higher Education
Inside Higher Ed
5 free articles per month. Out of articles? Just use a different browser!
NCAA
National College Players Association (NCPA)
Google Advanced Search
To limit by domain, type .org or .gov under "site or domain" on the lower half of the page

Source eval

Controversial Topics Tips

How Do I? Menu

How do I...

Searching for sources

Academic Search
A general catch-all database for all topics. It has resources written for the general public as well as sources written by experts.
more...less...
This video covers how to use this and other EBSCO products.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Another general database. This doesn't have subject headings and only searches full-text. The more words you search the fewer results you'll get.
National Newspapers Core This link opens in a new window
Includes access to LA Times, NY Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and Washington Post
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Find U.S. news content from over 3,000 local, regional, and national sources. Includes printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos from the 1980s to current, updated daily.

Specialized Databases

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
A sociology specific database, it contains just the scholarly articles about sociology and criminal justice topics.

PsycINFO
This one is all about psychology. Remember, there is a lot of overlap between sociology and psychology topics.
ERIC
ERIC is our education specific search engine.
Business Source Premier
Another Source Premier, this one is all about the business world.

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
A sports-specific database. Don't get freaked out that most of it isn't full-text. Just use the Find It button to request a copy and we'll email it to you in about 2 days.

HeinOnline
A database of laws, legal documents, and secondary sources like law reviews.

Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 575 scholarly full text journals in nursing and allied health.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
An environmental science-focused database

Aviation resources
Scroll down to the bottom left box on the page

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
A nursing-specific database

Books only catalog search box

Information zones

Understading Bias

Citation Guide links

Citing sources correctly is important to any research project, whether it be a paper, presentation, or speech. Citation styles govern more than just the 'Works Cited' page. They provide guidance on citations, in-text citations, formatting the paper, title pages, and more. Each style has slightly different formatting, but most require the same information. The following guides and tools will help you format your projects correctly.

Citation Home
Not sure which citation style you should use? Check out your syllabus or assignment. Not there? Check this guide to see our best guess. This page also links out to guides on additional citation styles not listed below.
Library APA Guide
A few basic examples of both how citations should look, as well as how to do in-text citations and style your paper.
Library MLA Guide
A few basic examples of both how citations should look, as well as how to do in-text citations and style your paper.
Getting Citations from Library Databases
Click here to see how to find citations from different library databases.

COM101: Basic Speech Communication: Persuasive Speech