Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding the stuff
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
A sports-specific database. Don't get freaked out that most of it isn't full-text. Just use the Find It button to request a copy and we'll email it to you in about 2 days.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
A sociology specific database, it contains just the scholarly articles about sociology and criminal justice topics.
Want to find books or films about your topic? Check out the library catalog to see what's available.
Academic Search This link opens in a new window
A general catch-all database for all topics. A good place to start, but don't forget it has a lot of non-scholarly stuff in it.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR I - IX and the Life Sciences Collections provide full text access to core journals in the social sciences, the humanities, and the sciences as well as journals in biology, ecology, health, geography, law, mathematics, and statistics. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
Search for your subtopics NOT the terms in the center of your brainstorming page.
Use the sports words to search in the SocINDEX database and the sociology words to search in SPORTDiscus.
Check your spelling. Most of these search engines won't spell check for you
The more words you search for the fewer results you'll get. So if you don't have enough results, take a search term away...don't add more!
Create a list of keywords you've used that work, so when you search the next database you remember.
Here are a few links to help you out with your APA citations.