LibGuides: HWS421: Sports Law and Ethics: Case Briefs and Legal Resources

Primary Sources

Court case specific resources

Court Listener
Search engine of court cases from federal and state courts. Full-text of opinions are available.
Google Scholar
Case law database powered by Google
Casetext.com

Sports Specific Legal Resources

Sports Litigation Alert

Find a case in Sports Litigation Alert. Then find the full-text in Court Listener.

Law Review & Law Journal Resources

SportDiscus
Academic Search
Recent Developments in Sports Law (formerly You Make the Call)
Annual summaries of cases and arbitration decisions relevant to sports law.
Journal of Legal Aspects of Sport
Current Issue and archives available free online
Law Review Commons
Larges collection of free and open law review scholarship. Search the whole collection, or browse a specific title.
SSRN eLibrary--Legal Sources
On the Advanced Search, under Networks, select just the Law category.
Drake Law Review
Wisconsin Law Review
Iowa Law Review

Additional Law Review Journals

Marquette Sports Law Review (located in Law Review Commons)
Seton Hall Journal of Sports & Entertainment (located in Hein Online)
Sports Lawyers Journal (locatined in Hein Online)
Jeffrey S. Moorad Sports Law Journal--formerly the Villanova Sports & Entertainment Law Journal (located in Law Review Commons)
Virginia Sports and Entertainment Law Journal (located in Hein Online)

HeinOnline
A database of laws, legal documents, and secondary sources like law reviews.
FindLaw
Contains search options for both primary and secondary sources

Legal Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law
Over 10,000 entries explain the vocabulary used in legal situations. Entries include definitions pronunciations, and frequent supplementary notes
Wex--Legal Dictionary
Legal dictionary provided by Cornell's Legal Information Institute
FindLaw--Legal Dictionary
Provided by FindLaw
Justia: Legal dictionary