LibGuides: DART340: Digital Illustration: Finding data

Google Advanced Search for Statistics

Advanced Search
Search for your topic and the word statistics and limit the search to .gov sites under "site or domain."

Government Statistics

State and federal government agencies are a great place to find quantitative data on your topic. Here are a few general websites, as well as some topic specific sites to try.

Where to Find Articles

Each database is going to have a different focus and strength. To be succesful, you are going to have to try more than one of these.

Academic Search
A general catch-all database. A good place to start, but don't forget it has a lot of non-scholarly stuff in it.
JSTOR
Another general database. This doesn't have subject headings and only searches full-text. The more words you search the fewer results you'll get.
SocINDEX
A sociology specific database, it contains just the scholarly articles about sociology and criminal justice topics.
PsycINFO
Looks and functions just like SocINDEX, but with a psychology focus. Remember, there is a lot of overlap between sociology and psychology topics.
Business Source
Try this database for business-type articles.
ERIC
Working on an education-related research question? Try this education specific database.
PubMed
Medical database. Look for full-text. If the article isn't there, use Find It. Or Journal List to make sure we don't have it full-text elsewhere.
SPORTDiscus
Looks like Academic Search, but just has sports articles. Most of these you will have to use Find It to request.
Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition)
Another health-based database.
GreenFile
Environmentally focused, GreenFile covers information about the human impact on the environment.

Other sources of information

Worldview Non-Profit Research
Many social issues have resources available on this page