Tips
- Keep track of your results. Print, save, or email in APA format!
- Use keyword searching (not natural language)
- Use subject terms to narrow
- Use abstracts to determine relevance
- What if full-text isn’t there? Use the "Find It " Button to locate the article in another database, have the library scan a copy for you (E-Delivery), etc.
- Can usually limit by: full-text, type of source (magazine, newspaper, academic/scholarly journal), date, etc.
Databases to find articles
Use the library's databases for electronic access to article citation information (author, title, etc.) & some full-text. Use the following databases to find articles on your topics.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR I - IX and the Life Sciences Collections provide full text access to core journals in the social sciences, the humanities, and the sciences as well as journals in biology, ecology, health, geography, law, mathematics, and statistics. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
How do I save/print/cite an article?
- Database FlowchartDo not use Firefox to view this PDF. The internal links will not work correctly. Please use Chrome or Internet Explorer. Or download and view in Adobe Reader. Thanks.
Scholarly Periodicals
•Written by experts for experts
•Peer reviewed
•Written by professors, researchers, graduate students
•Articles are long, often technical or difficult
•Many bibliographies
•Few pictures except graphs and diagrams
•Print editions: Matte paper
•Few if any advertisements