Need more help with using databases?
- Tutorials & How to use our resourcesCheck out these videos and guides about how to use our databases.
Online Encyclopedias
Searching for Books
Search for articles
Use the library's databases for electronic access to article citation information (author, title, etc.) & some full-text. Use the following databases to find articles on your topics.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA good general database that contains resources on many disciplines. It includes both popular magazine and newspaper sources as well as scholarly journal sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA database that contains scholarly academic journals, but doesn't have subject headings or as many options for limiting articles. But it does allow for a search of the entire full-text of an article for your search terms.
- PsycINFOA psychology database that contains mostly scholarly academic sources. Slightly different look than other databases, but functions much the same way.
- Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition) This link opens in a new windowHealth and medical database that contains scholarly academic articles.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowA business database that contains both popular magazine and scholarly academic articles.
- Business Insights: GlobalThis business database includes a variety of business sources as well as having more of an international focus.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowA sports-specific database. Don't get freaked out that most of it isn't full-text. Just use the Find It button to request a copy and we'll email it to you in about 2 days.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowAn education database that contains scholarly academic sources as well as government reports and data.
- Humanities SourceThis database covers Humanities including literature, music, theatre, and religion.
- Telegraph Herald (Available through Nexis UNI) This link opens in a new windowDigital text version of articles from the local paper. This does not include images or accompanying charts or graphs.
Tips
- Keep track of your results. Print, save, or email in APA format!
- Use keyword searching (not natural language)
- Use subject terms to narrow
- Use abstracts to determine relevance
- What if full-text isn’t there? Use the "Find It @ UD" link provided to locate the article in another database, have the library scan a copy for you (E-Delivery), or request via Interlibrary Loan if UD doesn't own it.
- Can usually limit by: full-text, type of source (magazine, newspaper, academic/scholarly journal), date, etc.
Searching the library catalog
The library catalog contains records for where to find all of the materials we physically own in the library: books, movies, board games, etc. It also contains links to all the e-books and streaming documentaries we own. We share this catalog with libraries around the world which allows us to get print items we don't own from other libraries, but this doesn't apply to e-books.
Retrieving your book
If you found an E-book - Just click on the "access online" button from the catalog. If you are unsure how to get to the full text check out this guide.
If you found a print book - First check to see if it is available. To locate it in the library you will need to know both the collection and the call number.
Searching within e-books
Searching the catalog for online resources
