Searching the library catalog
The library catalog contains records for where to find all of the materials we physically own in the library: books, movies, board games, etc. It also contains links to all the e-books and streaming documentaries we own. We share this catalog with libraries around the world which allows us to get print items we don't own from other libraries, but this doesn't apply to e-books.
Searching EBSCO databases
Academic Search Premier is a general database that contains both popular and scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines and sources. Great place to start if you need to confirm the viability of a topic.
The tips in this video will apply to most other EBSCO databases as well, including SocINDEX, ERIC, , and more. Subject specific databases like those may have some special features like unique limiters, but otherwise they will function the same way. The name of the database will be listed above the search bar:
Searching JSTOR
JSTOR is a general database that contains primarily full-text scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines. It differs from other UD databases in the fact that it searches the entire full-text of the articles, but has few options for limiting searching and no subject headings. This database is particularly useful when you already know some specifics about your topic.
Searching Credo
Background research is an important step in choosing and narrowing a topic. Doing a simple Google search is one way to get started, but the library also has a few encyclopedia type databases that will give you a basic overview of your topic.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowSearch online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources to find definitions, statistics, images, etc.
Citations
Citing sources correctly is important to any research project, whether it be a paper, presentation, or speech. Citation styles govern more than just the 'Works Cited' page. They provide guidance on citations, in-text citations, formatting the paper, title pages, and more. Each style has slightly different formatting, but most require the same information. The following guides and tools will help you format your projects correctly.
- Citation HomeNot sure which citation style you should use? Check out your syllabus or assignment. Not there? Check this guide to see our best guess. This page also links out to guides on additional citation styles not listed below.
- Library APA Guide
A few basic examples of both how citations should look, as well as how to do in-text citations and style your paper. - Library MLA Guide
A few basic examples of both how citations should look, as well as how to do in-text citations and style your paper. - Getting Citations from Library DatabasesClick here to see how to find citations from different library databases.
How to get full text of an article from a database?
Some articles are full-text in the database you selected to search in. Other times it may be located in one of the other 50 databases we subscribe to. Sometimes you'll find a citation for an article we don't have immediate access to; we can usually get you these as well. This service is part of your affiliation with the university; don't ever pay for access to an article. We can typically get it for you. This will show you how to do that.
How do I retrieve the full-text of an article I've requested?
When you request an article via Interlibrary Loan, we'll send you an email to notify you that the article is available. Sometimes that email may go to a junk folder. These directions will show you how to log into your ILLiad account from the email as well as from the library website to access your full-text. Remember article requests take about two business days on average, and the staff member responsible works 8-5 Monday-Friday.