LibGuides: Health, Wellness, and Sport: Home

Sports Marketing and Management: Where to find information

Search Strategies

Make sure to pay attention to subject headings in whatever database you're in. Business and Sports databases may describe something very differently.

Legal searching is different. You'll want to do some googling to know the names of laws or cases first. Check out HWS 421 for more on that.

SPORTDiscus
Looks like Academic Search (EBSCO), but just has sports marking, finance and law articles. Most of these you will have to use Find It to request.
SBRnet (Sport Business Resarch Network)
SBRnet provides market research and industry news including coverage of sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports attendance, consumer expenditures, sports marketing, sports facilities, licensing, TV and online media reports, trends, recent sports business and marketing news.
Business Source
An EBSCO business-based database that has marketing and finance articles.
HeinOnline
A database of laws, legal documents, and secondary sources like law reviews.
SocINDEX
A sociology specific database, it contains just the scholarly articles about sociology and criminal justice topics. Search for a sport to see how it intersects with sport.
Census Data
Census data can be used to make marketing decisions.

How to get full text of an article from a database?

Some articles are full-text in the database you selected to search in. Other times it may be located in one of the other 50 databases we subscribe to. Sometimes you'll find a citation for an article we don't have immediate access to; we can usually get you these as well. This service is part of your affiliation with the university; don't ever pay for access to an article. We can typically get it for you. This will show you how to do that.

Follow the step-by-step written directions here, or watch the video below

Exercise Science: Where to find information

Search strategies

When searching for a medical issue like a disease or injury, think about looking up the medical term for the topic rather than just the popular name for it.

Pay attention to the population of the study. How someone reacts to a treatment may vary greatly based on their age and experience in athletics.

Use the subject headings in these databases to help you find the official terms for your topics.

SPORTDiscus
Looks like Academic Search (EBSCO), but just has athletics and exercise science articles. Most of these you will have to use Find It to request.
PubMed
Medical database. Look for full-text. If the article isn't there, use Find It to locate it in another database or to ILL it. Or Journal List to make sure we don't have it full-text elsewhere. Do not purchase articles.
CINAHL Complete
An ESBCO database that includes selected original and full-text material about nursing and allied health topics, including injuries, rehab, and strengthening.
PsycINFO
A psychology database that covers motivation, teamwork, and other sports psychology topics.
Five-minute consult
A database that delivers quick, evidence-based answers to clinical questions like patient or client handouts for stretching or exercises.

Getting More Full Text in Google Scholar

As a student, faculty, or staff member at UD, you have access to more than the general non-university attending public in Google Scholar. In order to get access you need to edit your settings within Google Scholar. Here are the steps outlined in the video below:

Google "Google Scholar"
On the Google Scholar home page, click on the menu in the upper left hand corner (three lines).
Click on "Settings"
Click "Library Links"
Type in "University of Dubuque" in the search box and hit enter. Check the box next to University of Dubuque as it appears beneath the search box, and click "save"
You will be directed back to the Google Scholar search page where you can begin searching. Now you will see "Find It" links next to some of the articles in the results list, which will take you either to a database that contains the full text or to an option to request the article through interlibrary loan. *Note: if there is a "view full text" link directing you to ScienceDirect, this link will not work. Request the article through interlibrary loan instead if this is the case.