General Business Reference: Scholarly Business Databases

Academic Search Premier is a general database that contains both popular and scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines and sources. Great place to start if you need to confirm the viability of a topic.

The tips in this video will apply to most other EBSCO databases, including SocINDEX, CINAHL, SPORTDiscus, and more. Subject specific databases may have some special features like unique limiters, but otherwise they will function the same way. The name of the database will be listed above the search bar:

Here are some characteristics of a scholarly article:

• Articles written by professors or researchers
• Designed for students, professors, & researchers
• Articles reviewed in-depth by other researchers before publication
• The articles will also contain a bibliography at the end of the article.

• Select the "Peer Reviewed" option when on the Advanced Search Screen
• Another option is to select "Journal Article" as a Publication Type on the Advanced Search

• Keep track of your results.  Print, save, or email in APA format!
• Use keyword searching (not natural language)
• Use subject terms to narrow
• Use abstracts to determine relevance
• What if full-text isn’t there?  Use the "Find It @ UD" link provided to locate the article in another database, have the library scan a copy for you (E-Delivery), or request via Interlibrary Loan if UD doesn't own it. 
• Can usually limit by: full-text, type of source (magazine, newspaper, academic/scholarly journal), date, etc.