English lessons
The links below offer a wide variety of courses on the English language. The lessons cover a range of skill levels and help you practice grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation, and more.
- EnglishPageThe English Page offers weekly lessons in addition to guides and activities designed to teach grammar, punctuation, pronunciation, reading, and listening skills
- BBC Learning EnglishCheck out the context specific courses, such as English at university, English at work, and words in the news
- DuolingoFree program that makes learning a language feel like a game. 29 languages available, including English. Learn online or using the free mobile app.
- Mango Languages
online, as well as mobile, self-paced program that does not carry any academic credit. 72 languages available, including English. Provided by Charles C. Myers Library at no additional cost to current UD faculty, staff, and students.
Grammar Resources
Want more help with grammar? Explore the links below for help with specific grammar topics.
- CooljugatorA tool for verb conjugation - search for a verb and learn how to modify it to fit your sentence
- EnglishPage - Articles TutorialShould you use "a," "an," or "the?" The exercises on this page will help you practice how to use English articles
- TalkEnglish.com - PrepositionsLearn about common prepositions, "on," "at," and "in," and when it's appropriate to use them
- Grammarly - CommasThis guide explains how to correctly use commas, plus examples
- PurdueOwl - ESL StudentsThis page contains guides on several grammar topics, including sentence structure, prepositions, pronouns, punctuation, and tips for summarizing or paraphrasing. Use the orange menu on the left side to find these guides
Vocabulary Resources
- Oxford Learner's DictionaryLook up English words for definitions, synonyms, and example sentences
- Merriam-Webster - Perfect PronunciationExercises to practice pronouncing English words, plus a learner's dictionary
- WordReference.comLook up words in any of 19 languages and get a translation
- Reverso English-Arabic DictionaryLook up words in English or Arabic to get a translation and lots of example sentences
- American English - IdiomsAn online reference book of idioms - phrases and expressions that aren't meant to be understood literally
Academic Success Center
About the ASC
Peer and professional staff in the Academic Success Center (ASC), located on the 2nd floor of the library, are available to assist students in becoming self-determined, motivated, and independent learners.
Subject tutoring is available for most subjects but particularly for business, economics, science, mathematics, aviation regulations, and technology.
Writing Center
The Writing Center can help students at any point in the writing process. Consultants work with students one-on-one or in small groups in order to provide them with the tools, techniques, and confidence required to develop into successful writers. Writing tutors will not, however, merely proofread papers.
Make an Appointment
To schedule an appointment for subject tutoring or for a writing consultation, please use the online form. A simple registration is required. If you have any questions, please call the ASC at (563) 589-3262.
For Additional Practice
Skills Tutor is an online self-paced tutorial program available to any UD student. This program helps teach students specific skills related to: grammar, sentance structure, thesis statemants, paragraph composition, and many more. It is an online program and is accessible anywhere with an internet connection. Note that a username and password are required. To receive this and for more information, contact Pam Fields in Myers Library 205 or by email at pfields@dbq.edu or by phone at (563) 589-3218.
Library Terminology and Tools
Ask a Librarian
Librarians can help with any stage of the research process, from brainstorming a topic, to searching for and evaluating credible sources.
You can make an appointment with a specific staff member, or just stop by the Reference Desk. The Reference Desk is located on the first floor near the printer area, and staffed from Monday-Thursday 9AM--8PM (1PM-5PM on call), and 9AM-1PM on Friday.
- Library terminologyYou may hear library staff use these terms. Translations provided in English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, French, & Spanish.
- Library terms definedCommon library terms with definitions.
- Text-to-speech in EBSCO databases
Short instructional video (1:29) about how to have EBSCO databases, including Academic Search Premier, read aloud. A translate option is also available for articles that are HTML full-text within the database. - Language display in EBSCO databasesScreen shot of how to change the language display. 29 languages available. EBSCO databases.
Student Groups
- Student OrganizationsJoining a club and socializing is a great way to practice a new language. There are over 65 to choose from!
- Office of Multicultural Student Engagement - FacebookCheck the Facebook page for UDMSE for news and information about events for students
- International Friendship Club (IFC) - FacebookThe IFC works to provide more international student programming throughout the year, including socials, holiday observances, and field trips.
African Student Association: Promotes understanding and social exchange about African diaspora in the USA. Contact: Naomi Kipulu
Asian Student Union: Promotes the awareness, understanding and knowledge of Asia both within and beyond the University community. Contact: Christopher Doll
Saudi Students Organization (SSOUD): Celebrates Saudi national and cultural events and holidays with UD community and assists new and current Saudi students. Contact: SSOUD
Entertainment
A fun way to practice & enhance your language skills is to read or watch films in your new language. You can check out magazines, books, movies, and board games for free at the Charles C. Myers Library. Stop by the reference desk and chat with a library staff member for a recommendation, or search for a specific title using the Library Catalog.