Skip to main content

EDU202: Introduction to Exceptional Learner: Finding Resources

Finding Books

Search the library catalog using keywords related to your topic. To limit just to Curriculum Library materials, use the Advanced Search; limit options are available at the bottom.

UD Catalog

Enter term(s)

Advanced Search

Need a refresher on how to use the catalog? Check out this video.

Finding Media

To limit library catalog searches to media, use the UD Media tab on the library catalog search box, shown below. DVD's and audio books are located on the third floor.

Finding Education Articles

  • Academic Search Premier: Includes many scholarly and full text articles. Has many full text, scholarly articles on education and other subjects.
  • ERIC (Education Resources Information Center): Limits to articles on education.
    • Advanced Search allows limiting by level (ie. Early Childhood, specific grade levels, etc.).
    • ERIC is a specialized education database with informative abstracts, but many articles are not full-text.
    • Use "Full-Text from ERIC" link if provided. If not, use red "Find It" button to check other databases. If no other databases have that publication, select From another library to request Interlibrary Loan (free).

Finding Non-Print Items

To limit library catalog searches to Curriculum Library Non-Print materials, simply add CLX to your search terms.

Non-print items include:

  • Posters
  • Big books
  • Games
  • Puzzles
  • Photos
  • Digital library/online archives
  • Puppets
  • Atlases
  • Globes
  • Music (streaming, MP3, or CD)

Finding an article full-text from a citation

  1. Determine what kind of source it is. Is it a book chapter? A journal article? (Easiest way to do this is to look for a volume or issue number. Then you know it's a journal article!)
  2. If it is a book, look in the catalog to see if we own it. If we don't, you need to Interlibrary Loan it. Do so by checking the "Libraries Worldwide" link on the left, and clicking "Request Copy."
  3. If it is an article, use the Journal List to search for the journal title to see which database it is in. If we don't own it, use Find It to request the title. If it's not in a database, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article.

 

Keyword vs. Subject Heading Searching

When locating subject headings in the library catalog, one of the easiest ways is to start with keyword searching. When you find materials that may be relevant to your research, click on the items to view the complete records. The bulleted lists under the titles are subject headings. Often, they are very similar, with just slight variations. After looking around, try the Advanced Search and search the subject headings with the "Subject" option. Remember you can combine subject headings together! Using the "AND" option will ensure that your results contain all of the subjects searched.