LibGuides: SCJ313: Intro to Con Law: Home

Books that might help you

The Charters of Freedom
An online exhibit about the Declaration of Freedom, Constitution, and the Bill of Rights and their importance and impact on society.
Legal Information Institute
Text of the Constitution

SCOTUSblog
Court documents and articles about recent and current Supreme Court cases.
Court Listener
The site has daily information regarding all precedential opinions issued by the 13 federal circuit courts and the Supreme Court of the United States. It also has the non-precedential opinions from all of the Circuit courts except the D.C. Circuit.
Find Law
FindLaw's Cases and Codes section contains resources and links for both state and federal laws. This includes resources pertaining to constitutions, statutes, cases and more. Run a search for case summaries or select a jurisdiction to browse applicable laws.
Legal Information Institute
Housed at Cornell University LII compiles legal resources and court case documentation free on the web.
Great American Court Cases
This resource, while focusing primarily on Supreme Court cases, also includes major federal or state cases that set precedents. It contains cases organized by broad legal principles, then arranged alphabetically under the more specific legal issue.
Law Library of Congress
The Library of Congress has a specific site for just the legal research resources.

A & C Black Dictionary of Law
This best-selling dictionary provides clear, concise and fully up-to-date information on all aspects of civil, criminal and commercial law. Examples and encyclopedic comments help to explain complex terms from British, European and US legal procedure.
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law
Over 10,000 entries explain the vocabulary used in legal situations. Entries include definitions pronunciations, and frequent supplementary notes
World of Criminal Justice
The individual entries explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Photographs, statistical charts, and graphs aid the reader in understanding the topics and people covered in the reference work.

The reference citation should look like the following: Name v. Name, Case Number (Court Abbreviation Year).

So this citation would be: Illinois v. Lidster, 540 U.S. 419 (U.S. 2004). In text, you would use (Lidster, 2004).

Here's where you find those pieces on your LEXIS document.:

For your court abbreviation, does your court name have a state in it? Click here to find the abbreviation. If it doesn't, click here to find it.

Did you find your case somewhere other than Lexis?? Contact Becky for help finding the pieces you can't locate.