Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Premier
A general catch-all database for all topics. A good place to start, but don't forget it has a lot of non-scholarly stuff in it.
An education-specific database. Make sure you take a close look at publication dates and source type--ERIC has some dated material and source types that may not be helpful in your assignment.
A sport-specific database. This is a great database to find articles for your assignment as you'll most likely find articles with a physical education and health, wellness, and sport focus. Don't get freaked out that most of it isn't full-text. Just use the Find It button to request a copy and we'll email it to you in about 2 days.
Another general database. This doesn't have subject headings and only searches full-text. The more words you search the fewer results you'll get.
This one is all about psychology. Look here to see what psychologists have to say about playing dodge ball in schools.
Nexis UNI (formerly LexisNexis)
A news database. DO NOT use the largest search bar. Instead, use the guided search - select "News" and then type your keywords where it says "Search in all news for."
Don't forget, you don't need to use the whole book. Want to use just a chapter? Let us scan it for you. Fill out this form and bring it and the book up to the front (circulation) desk and we'll scan it and email it to you.
Need help reading a call number? Check out this guide.
Special Librarian Search Tips
- Use "quotation marks" around a phrase you search for that phrase and not the words separately
- Check your spelling. Most of these search engines won't spell check for you
- The more words you search for the fewer results you'll get. So if you don't have enough results, take a search term away...don't add more!
- Create a list of keywords you've used that work, so when you search the next database you remember.
Note about keywords:
Dodgeball or Dodge Ball?
You may see this term spelled both without a space, and with a space. The databases aren't smart enough to realize that these are the same thing. Be smarter than the database, and search using both variations.
Keywords and Subjects aren't the same thing?
Keywords are simply those words you type into the search box to get the results you want. Just like in Google, you don't type your whole question, just the important words or terms that will help you get the answers. Remember to consider synonyms when you create your keyword list.
So what are subjects then? Subjects are a specific word or phrase some librarian has assigned to a particular topic. Basically it's a tag we attach to articles or books. Why would we do that? Because that way when you search for that specific word or phrase you get EVERYTHING that has been tagged with that term. You can find these subjects (or subject headings) in the library catalog and most databases (except JSTOR). Usually they live along the left side bar or in the middle of the record (when you click on a specific book or article).
Searching within a Specific Journal Title
If there is a specific journal title you'd like to search within, here are the steps:
- Determine the name of the journal you want to find full-text
- Use the Journal List to see which database the full-text is in
- Click on the title of the journal you searched (do not click on the title of the database--the search won't work!)
- Choose "Search Within this Publication"
- After choosing this, your searches will only find articles published within the specifc journal you searched