Search Tips
- Use the subject headings (i.e. Headings, MeSH) to find out the official terminology.
- Advanced Search limit options include: Articles in which any author is a nurse, nursing journal subset, patient demographics (age, sex)
- Use "Find It" button to find full-text
- Child*: Finds child, children, childhood, etc.
- *natal: Finds prenatal, antenatal, postnatal, etc.
- Quotation marks: Finds phrases e.g. “acute pain” ; (AND is the default)
- Plurals: Are found automatically, e.g. hand finds hand or hands
Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThe authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare including references to books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments. Although a bibliographic database, includes selected original and full-text material.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
- Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 575 scholarly full text journals in nursing and allied health.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: 1) The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE; 2) Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; 3) Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
- National Academy of MedicineNational Academy of Medicine was originally known as the Institution of Medicine
