Skip to main content

NRS201: Introduction to Nursing: Nursing Research

Charles C. Myers Library Coronavirus Updates

Use this guide to access information about library services available for the remainder of the Spring semester in the wake of COVID-19. The Charles C. Myers Library will continue to provide reference (through email and video chat) and limited interlibrary loan services (longer wait times and some article requests may not be filled due to lack of lending institutions during the pandemic).

Why Nursing Literature?

Use scholarly peer-reviewed nursing literature (journal articles) because:

  • they contain the highest quality of evidence to support your cases
  • they help you track changes in the field
  • they reveal what research has already been done and what gaps exist in the research
  • they are required for getting good grades!

Search Tips

  • Use the Subject headings (thesaurus) to find out the official terminology.
  • Advanced Search limit options include:  Articles in which any author is a nurse, nursing journal subset, patient demographics (age, gender)
  • Use "Find It" button to find full-text
  • Child*: Finds child, children, childhood, etc.
  • *natal:  Finds prenatal, antenatal, postnatal, etc.
  • Quotation marks:  Finds phrases e.g. “acute pain” ; (AND is the default)
  • Plurals: Are found automatically, e.g. hand finds hand or hands

Databases

Library Database FAQ's

Can I use these databases off-campus?  Yes. Nearly all library databases are available both on- and off-campus. Just use your UD network username & password when prompted if you are off-campus.

What if the article I want isn't there? Many articles in CINAHL are provided citation-only. Use the Find It button provided to find full-text in another database or in print (if available), or to access the interlibrary loan (ILL) request form for articles our library doesn't have through our current subscriptions.

What's Interlibrary Loan?  If UD doesn't own an article (or a book, DVD, or other library material), we can usually get it for you free!  We partner with other libraries to provide their materials for you through our Interlibrary Loan service. The easiest way to request Interlibrary Loan is to locate an article in a library database and use the Find It button. You will simply need to log in, then the request form will auto-fill for you. Ensure it completed the form correctly, then use the Submit button. You'll be notified via UD email when your article is available for you, usually within 2-3 business days.

What if I need help?  Any time you need help with research in a nursing class, or any class, contact a librarian. Contact information for the librarian for the nursing department, is on this research guide.

You are also welcome to stop by the Reference Desk, near the 1st-floor computer area, in the library. No appointment necessary.

Research Help

Kate Faford-Johnson's picture
Kate Faford-Johnson
Contact:
Charles C. Myers Library
Room 107
kfaford@dbq.edu
563.589.3849

Assessment and Evaluation