Info Lit Building Blocks: Books

Don't forget, you don't need to use the whole book. Want to use just a chapter? Let us scan it for you. Fill out this form and bring it and the book up to the front (circulation) desk and we'll scan it and email it to you.

Need help reading a call number? Check out this guide.

1. Determine what kind of source it is. Is it a book chapter? A journal article? 
2. If it is a book, look in the catalog or WorldCat to see if we own it or if you need to Interlibrary Loan it.
3. If it is an article, use the Journal List to search for the journal title to see which database it is in. If we don't own it, use Find It to request the title. If it's not in a database, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article.

Finding a book on a topic is sometimes easier, and sometimes conversely more difficult than finding a specific book you know the title of. Start with a basic search of the library catalog. The left column will have options to narrow your results. This is an easy way to narrow to just print or e-books. You can also use a subject search to get other books on similar topics that might not use the exact words you searched for.  Once you find a book in the catalog, you need to look at 3 different things to figure out where to find the book.

First: Look at the status (in the blue box)--Is your book Available or Checked out?

Second: Determine what collection (in the purple box)--Which floor is the book on?

Third: Write down the call number (in the green box)--This call number is like the book's address. You need the whole thing.

This book is in the Circulating Collection on the third floor. You know it's the third floor and not the first floor because the Call Number starts with ND which is between L-Z, not A-K. Remember, other books on the same topic should be shelved near this book. It might be a good time to head to the shelves in that section and browse for a book that works for your needs.

If you locate an e-book we own, you can just click "View Ebook" to read it. More about how to use e-books can be found on this guide.

Looking for a specific book or book chapter? Use the library catalog to see if we own it. Use "quotation marks" around the title of the book, and add the author if you know it for generic titles.

Once you find the book in the catalog, use the directions above to use the call number to locate the book or to view the e-book.

If it doesn't appear like we own the book, find the record for the print book in the search results and click on the Availability tab. Click on the Request this Item through InterLibrary Loan/E-Delivery button. This will prompt you to log in using your UD network log in. It should auto fill the information you need, and you just need to click Submit Request at the bottom. We'll email you when your book arrives and you can pick it up.

If you found an E-book - Just click on the "access online" button from the catalog.  If you are unsure how to get to the full text check out this guide.  

If you found a print book - First check to see if it is available.  To locate it in the library you will need to know both the collection and the call number.  

Once you find a book in the catalog, you need to look at 3 different things to figure out where to find the book.

First: Look at the status (in the blue box)--Is your book Available or Checked out?

Second: Determine what collection (in the purple box)--Which floor is the book on?

Third: Write down the call number (in the green box)--This call number is like the book's address. You need the whole thing.

This book is in the Circulating Collection on the third floor. You know it's the third floor and not the first floor because the Call Number starts with ND which is between L-Z, not A-K.

This book is on the first floor in the Reference Collection. This means it's on the short shelves on the first floor near the reference desk. It also means you cannot check it out, or take it from the building.

This book is also on the first floor. Folios are large "coffee table size" books located near the elevators on the short shelves on first floor. Unlike Reference books found on the first floor short shelves, you can check out Folio books.

The second floor of the library, also known as the Curriculum Library, is where all the children's and young adult books are. All of the books on the 2nd floor are either for children or for teachers to use with children. You shouldn't use these for your paper.

Once you find a book in the catalog, you need to look at 3 different things to figure out where to find the book.

First: Look at the status (in the blue box)--Is your book Available or Checked out?

Second: Determine what collection (in the purple box)--Which floor is the book on?

Third: Write down the call number (in the green box)--This call number is like the book's address. You need the whole thing.

This book is in the Circulating Collection on the third floor. You know it's the third floor and not the first floor because the Call Number starts with ND which is between L-Z, not A-K.

This book is on the first floor in the Reference Collection. This means it's on the short shelves on the first floor near the reference desk. It also means you cannot check it out, or take it from the building.

The second floor of the library, also known as the Curriculum Library, is where all the children's and young adult books are. All of the books on the 2nd floor are either for children or for teachers to use with children. You shouldn't use these for your paper.

Want more help? Check out this Tumblr post about finding books in the catalog!