Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Searching for a specific year is effective. However searching for a decade or range of time is really difficult. This is because the computer programs are looking for an exact match to whatever you type, so if you search 1960s but the author says sixties, or even 60s, it won't return as a a positive result. If you're searching for an era, you're more likely to be successful searching for the name of it like Victorian Era or The Great Depression.
- When searching for people, use quotation marks around their name to get the system to search for the name as a phrase. Also be sure to check if their are alternate spellings of a person's name.
- Keep in mind that place names have also changed throughout history. You may need to search for both the contemporary name as well as the historical place name.
Places to search
A general database. This doesn't have subject headings and only searches full-text. The more words you search the fewer results you'll get. There are a few ways to narrow or filter your search.
A general catch-all database for all topics. May contain some scholarly history stuff, but don't forget it has a lot of non-scholarly stuff in it too. You may need to filter that out. Also use the subject headings to help narrow your search.
The library catalog has books, e-books, films, and streaming films that the library owns.
This is a database that includes a bunch of encyclopedias and dictionaries. A great place to look for background information about your topic before digging a little deeper.
EBSCO database that has history, art, music, literature, theatre, and dance, etc.
Retrieving e-books vs print books
If you found an E-book - Just click on the "access online" button from the catalog. If you are unsure how to get to the full text check out this guide.
If you found a print book - First check to see if it is available. To locate it in the library you will need to know both the collection and the call number.
Getting the full text
Found an article you like, but no full text?
We can still get it for you! First click Find it @ UD