Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help? Contact Becky at email@example.com or call her at 563-589-3649. You can also get help by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org or calling the reference desk at 563-589-3770. Chatting via Teams with the Reference Desk staff is also an option. You can do that by clicking this link.
Women Working, 1800-1930
An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.
Women of Protest, National Women's Party
The archive depict the tactics used by the militant wing of the suffrage movement in the United States—including picketing, petitioning, pageants, parades and demonstrations, hunger strikes and imprisonment---as well as individual portraits of organization leaders and members.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives
Two months after the bombing of Pearl Harbor, the lives of thousands of Japanese Americans were dramatically changed when President Franklin D. Roosevelt signed Executive Order 9066. This order led to the assembly and evacuation and relocation of nearly 122,000 men, women, and children of Japanese ancestry on the west coast of the United States.
Vietnam War Era Ephemera Collection
This database contains leaflets and newspapers that were distributed on the University of Washington campus during the decades of the 1960s and 1970s. They reflect the social environment and political activities of the youth movement in Seattle during that period.
Women's Airforce Service Pilots
Between 1942 and 1944, at the height of World War II, more than a thousand women left homes and jobs for the opportunity of a lifetime--to become the first in history to fly for the U.S. military. These women became the Women Airforce Service Pilots of World War II, better known as the WASP.
Public Health Crises
The American Influenza Epidemic of 1918
An estimated 650,000 Americans lost their lives to the infamous and tragic 1918-1919 influenza epidemic, a small but significant fraction of the approximately 50 million deaths the disease caused worldwide. These pages contain the stories of the places, the people, and the organizations that battled the American influenza epidemic of 1918-1919.
HIV and AIDS, 30 Years Ago
The first recognition of what became known as HIV and AIDS appeared in June 1981. The U.S. Centers for Disease Control (CDC) reported that several otherwise healthy young men were dying of diseases usually seen only in elderly or immune-depressed patients. The men lived in Los Angeles and New York and all were gay. Within weeks, many more cases surfaced.
More Diverse Voices
Minnesota Oral Histories*****
Since the mid-20th century Minnesota's population has been augmented by successive waves of immigration, especially from Asia, East Africa, and Latin America. The Minnesota Historical Society has traditionally documented the lives of its residents by collecting objects, but immigrants, especially those fleeing civil war and strife, often arrive with little in the way of possessions. Oral history offers a superb opportunity to document recent immigrants during the period of settlement and acculturation, gathering stories that may otherwise be left out of the historical record.
Stonewall Uprising Interviews*****
The documentary discusses the Stonewall riots, a six-day period beginning on June 28, 1969, during which the LGBTQ+ community protested against a police raid on a gay bar called the Stonewall Inn, in Greenwich Village, NYC (no audio transcripts)
The American Indian Movement
The American Indian Movement (AIM) is an American Indian advocacy group organized to address issues related to sovereignty, leadership, and treaties. AIM staged a number of protest actions on historically significant sites of injustice and violence perpetrated by the federal government against Native Americans. These protests included the occupation of Alcatraz Island in 1970, protests at the federal Bureau of Indian Affairs in 1972, and the occupation of Wounded Knee on the Pine Ridge Reservation in 1973
Civil Rights in a Northern City: Philadelphia
Civil Rights in a Northern City: Philadelphia seeks to highlight the key people, places, and events that made Philadelphia an important part of the national struggle for racial equality and social change.
Baltimore 68, Riots and Rebirth
For two weeks in April 1968, beginning in the dark hours following the assassination of Martin Luther King Jr., the city of Baltimore was devastated by a series of civil disturbances that left six dead, dozens injured and hundreds of properties, both private and public, burned, shattered and in ruins.
Stories from the First Great Migration to Philadelphia*****
Between 1910 and 1930, the African-American population of Philadelphia skyrocketed, from around 85,000 to nearly 220,000 in the early years of the Great Depression. This massive influx of southern newcomers had a deep and enduring impact on the city.
Tulsa Race Massacre
The Tulsa Race Massacre occurred on May 31, 1921 and June 1 1921. Mobs of white residents attacked the Greenwood District, at the time the wealthiest black community in American. *Be aware that some images depict dead bodies and extreme graphic mutilation.*
Freedom Summer Digital Collection
Freedom Summer, or the Mississippi Summer Project, was a 1964 voter registration drive aimed at increasing the number of registered Black voters in Mississippi. Over 700 mostly white volunteers joined African Americans in Mississippi to fight against voter intimidation and discrimination at the polls.
By Popular Demand: Jackie Robinson and Other Baseball Highlights, 1860s-1960s
Jackie Robinson was an extremely talented multi-sport athlete and a courageous man who played an active role in civil rights. This presentation was created to commemorate his achievements and describe some aspects of the color line's development and the Negro Leagues.
Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America. (oral histories are in Spanish and do not have transcripts)
Cesar Chavez, Farmworker Movement Project
Photographs, oral histories, videos, essays and historical documents from the United Farm Worker Delano Grape Strikers and the UFW Volunteers who worked with Cesar Chavez to build his farmworker movement. (audio does not have transcripts)
Voices from the Dust Bowl: 1940-1941
This archive is an online presentation of selections from a multi-format ethnographic field collection documenting the everyday life of residents of Farm Security Administration (FSA) migrant work camps in central California in 1940 and 1941. (interviews don't have transcripts)
Great Depression Interviews*****
From the stock market crash of 1929 to the beginnings of World War II, The Great Depression tells the dramatic and diverse stories of struggle and survival during the worst economic crisis in U.S. history.