LibGuides: PRF110: Exploring Health Professions: Home

Charles C. Myers Library Resources

Library homepage
Databases
Search for articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, and more.
Journal List
Search for journals UD subscribes to, and search for full-text if you have an article citation.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the full text version of an article?
Fill out the interlibrary loan form to request full text of articles and book chapters and receive a PDF full text version in your UD email inbox.

Evaluating Online Sources

If you find information using Google you will end up with a wide variety of websites--some untrustworthy. Use the following criteria to evaluate whether or not a source is trustworthy: (when in doubt, ask a librarian)

Authority (Who?)
Who wrote it? Can you find their name? Are they trustworthy? Are they an expert in the field? Is it an organization? A government agency? A random person? A student? A journalist?
Currency (When?)
When was it written? Or last updated? Does that matter? Could the information have changed?
Audience
Who is the source intended for? The general public? Professionals/experts? Students?
Purpose (Why?)
Why does the site exist? Is it trying to sell you something? Persuade you about an issue? Provide factual information? Provide an opinion?
Organization
What organization is behind the site? What is their connection to the issue? Are they potentially biased?
*Tip: Use the About Us section or go to the base URL, which is everything up to & including the domain (.com, .gov, .org, .edu).

Global Health Issues: Background Info & Data

These sources provide reputable background information and data for common global health issues:

World Health Organization (WHO)
The World Health Organization website provides trustworthy information on major health topics including overviews, prevention, management, and surveillance.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The CDC is a branch of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services where you can find quality information on major diseases and conditions.
HealthyPeople.gov
HealthyPeople.gov is an extension of the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP). Search a disease/condition in the search box to find background information and current systematic review articles on global health topics.

Global Health Information: Article Databases

Use these databases to find articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines on global health issues:

Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Find U.S. news content from over 3,000 local, regional, and national sources. Includes printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos from the 1980s to current, updated daily.
Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
Use to find current research articles in full text. (Note: this database contains a lot of older articles as well, so use the publication date limit on the left under "Limit To" in order to get the most current research)