Librarians are happy to partner with you to create effective research assignments and teach research strategies. We can provide in-class instruction as well as customized online video tutorials to help students use credible resources. All library instruction is tailored to a specific assignment so it is most relevant for students. Librarians can provide resources, research tips, databases, and style guides to your students electronically via customized research guides for courses. Browse all the research guides at: http://libguides.dbq.edu/
Our dedicated library instruction computer lab provides an ideal location for hands-on, active learning. Contact your liaison librarian to schedule instruction, learn more about what library instruction can look like, and other resources available.
The library provides access to academic books, films, magazines and journals in both print and electronic format. In addition to the academic sources, the library also has recreational materials such as fiction, television seasons, graphic novels, young adult fiction, and board games.
Faculty may check out books for a semester. All other physical items can be checked out for a 2-week period. Items can be renewed online. Search the library catalog for all print materials, e-books, and streaming films.
Online databases of journal, news, and magazine articles as well as streaming films and images are also available courtesy of the library. All online resources are accessible both on- and off-campus. Check out our Databases by Title list for access to over 50 online databases and descriptions of their content.
The library provides several services to ensure your students can access their course materials.
Course Reserves make class materials available to students online via Moodle, or in print with limited circulation. We do not purchase textbooks for the collection, but will gladly put a copy you provide on reserve.
Please submit the completed form directly to reserves@dbq.edu. For more details about Reserves procedures, check out our reserves webpage.
Open Educational Resources provide full online access to course materials at no cost to students. Search Faculty Select to find OERs and DRM-free E-Books for your courses, and request that they be added to the library collection.
Each academic department/program has a professional librarian assigned to work with faculty and students in that area to help ensuring a library collection that meets student and faculty needs and help students, faculty, and staff effectively access information
Your liaison librarian can help you:
- Plan effective research assignments
- Teach students how to find information for particular assignments
- Purchase materials you or students need for classes and research
- Find information you need for your own research
- Learn how to effectively use library materials, tools and services
Check out our liaison librarian webpage to figure out who is your assigned liaison.