LibGuides: COM357: Emotions and Communication: Finding Articles

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Premier
Look for newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles here. Good starting place.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
How about another COM database?
JSTOR
Full-text articles on a variety of topics. But remember to check dates on them. JSTOR articles go all the way back to the 1880s!
SocINDEX with Full Text
Sociology deals a lot with identity and community issues. Look for a different perspective on your topic here.
PsycINFO and PsycArticles
Communication and psychology often go hand in hand. Don't forget to search here too.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
An education specific database. Good for communication in a school or higher education setting
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Looking for communication in the corporate world? This database is focused on business, so you will see articles here on workplace communication, management, teams, etc.

Advanced Search
Search for your topic keywords and limit the search to .org or .edu sites under "site or domain."

Determine what kind of source it is. Is it a book chapter? A journal article?
If it is a book, look in the catalog or WorldCat to see if we own it or if you need to Interlibrary Loan it.
If it is an article, use the Journal List to search for the journal title to see which database it is in. If we don't own it, use Find It to request the title. If it's not in a database, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article.