Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Find Books
Remember, you can try to search for both your country name and the specific type of information you're looking for, but if that doesn't work. Take a step back and just search for the name of your country to see if we have a general book about it. Also beware the Curriculum Library books--You don't want to cite a kid's book in your project!!
Need a refresher on how to find a book on the shelf? Check out this video.
Where to Find Articles
Library search engines (databases) are a great place to find scholarly journal articles or other sources for your paper. Each search engine has a different flavor/subject area it covers. If the full text isn’t right there, click the Find It button. If we don’t have the article, you can request it from another library by clicking the “get this article or book chapter” link. (The turnaround time on this is usually about 2 days.)
This is a database that includes a bunch of encyclopedias. A great place to look for background information about your concept before digging a little deeper.
A general catch-all database. A good place to start, but don't forget it has a lot of non-scholarly stuff in it.
Another general database. This doesn't have subject headings and only searches full-text. The more words you search the fewer results you'll get.
A sociology specific database, it contains just the scholarly articles about sociology topics.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
A communication specific database.
Special Librarian Search Tips
- Using "quotation marks" around a phrase will find that phrase specifically--not the words individually
- Check your spelling. Most of these search engines won't spell check for you.
- The more words you search for, the fewer results you'll get. If you don't have enough results, take a search term away...don't add more!
- Create a list of keywords you've used that work, so when you search the next database you remember.