Where to start and what's here
Hi everyone! It's Becky. Sad we don't get to hang out face-to-face, but know that I'm still here to help you out with this class in any way I can. Just a few things to start. I've tried to add video & screenshot tutorials where I could at the bottom of each column on this page. Also the tabs above this box can aid you in citations for either APA or MLA, or getting the library databases to supply these citations. It also has a link to our online reference help. There you can get help via chat, audio, or video all from the same link. It works for computers and on your phone.
Want to hear my voice instead? Check out this video to get a brief tour of the libguide: Video Tour
Searching for biographies and autobiographies
Not sure who you want to read about try using the following search in the library catalog: su:BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY Composers & Musicians
This should bring up all the materials we have with this subject heading.
- Library CatalogWant to find books or films about your topic? Check out the library catalog to see what's available.
Searching the catalog for online resources
Searching the library catalog
The library catalog contains records for where to find all of the materials we physically own in the library: books, movies, board games, etc. It also contains links to all the e-books and streaming documentaries we own. We share this catalog with libraries around the world which allows us to get print items we don't own from other libraries, but this doesn't apply to e-books.
More library sources
- National Newspaper CoreMajor daily newspapers, includes access to LA Times, NY Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post
- MasterFILE PremierGood general database, especially for music, film, and other humanities
- Humanities SourceEBSCO database that has history, art, music, literature, theatre, and dance, etc.
- Academic SearchGeneral database that covers lots of topics
African-American Music
- Smithsonian: African American Community and Culture GalleryCheck out links on Entertainers and Musicians and "Selected Collections by Music and Musicians/Entertainers"
Searching EBSCO databases
Academic Search Premier is a general database that contains both popular and scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines and sources. Great place to start if you need to confirm the viability of a topic.
The tips in this video will apply to most other EBSCO databases as well, including SocINDEX, ERIC, , and more. Subject specific databases like those may have some special features like unique limiters, but otherwise they will function the same way. The name of the database will be listed above the search bar:
Subject Guide
Second floor near water fountain
bcanovan@dbq.edu