LibGuides: SCJ215: Court Systems and Judicial Process: Home

Suggested Databases

Academic Search This link opens in a new window
A general database covering many subjects and resource types
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A general database. Use the advanced search and check the box for articles to weed out source types like book reviews.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
A sociology specific database, it contains just the scholarly articles about sociology and criminal justice topics.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A psychology specific database. Good for mental health related topics

HeinOnline
A database of laws, legal documents, and secondary sources like law reviews.

Finding a source from a citation

Determine what kind of source it is. Is it a book chapter? A journal article?
If it is a book, look in the catalog or WorldCat to see if we own it or if you need to Interlibrary Loan it.
If it is an article, use the Journal List to search for the journal title to see which database it is in. If we don't own it, use Find It to request the title. If it's not in a database, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article.

Law Review and Law Journal Resources

Law Review Commons
Larges collection of free and open law review scholarship. Search the whole collection, or browse a specific title.
SSRN eLibrary--Legal Sources
On the Advanced Search, under Networks, select just the Law category.
Drake Law Review
Wisconsin Law Review
Iowa Law Review

Finding Books

Retrieving your book

If you found an E-book - Just click on the "access online" button from the catalog. If you are unsure how to get to the full text check out this guide.

If you found a print book - First check to see if it is available. To locate it in the library you will need to know both the collection and the call number.

Dictionaries and Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia database, good for general information and definitions. Contains several legal dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Collins Dictionary of Law
Comprehensive coverage of business law, Scots, and Irish law. Wide coverage of business law terms. Defines legal terms of the EU and Commonwealth countries.
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law
Over 10,000 entries explain the vocabulary used in legal situations. Entries include definitions pronunciations, and frequent supplementary notes
Wex--Legal Dictionary
Legal dictionary provided by Cornell's Legal Information Institute
FindLaw--Legal Dictionary
Provided by FindLaw

Professional Organizations and Resources

Librarian

Sarah Slaughter

Email Me

Contact:

Charles C. Myers Library, room 219
sslaughter@dbq.edu

(563) 589-3645

SCJ215: Court Systems and Judicial Process: Home