NRS401: Nursing Research Utilization: Finding Sources

The authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare including references to books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments. Although a bibliographic database, includes selected original and full-text material.

A specialized medical and nursing resource for systematic reviews of evidence, considered the "gold standard" for Evidence Based Practice. Use the Search tab to search by keywords OR use the Browse tab & select By Topic.

PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: 1) The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE; 2) Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; 3) Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

Summaries of the world's literature in psychology, including about 9,900 international journals, books, chapters of books, dissertations, and technical reports. 1887 to the present. Updated weekly. PsycArticles contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. Coverage spans 1985 to present.