Skip to Main Content
Toggle navigation
Library Home
Libguides Home
How Do I?
Library Basics
Citations
University of Dubuque
LibGuides
HWS105: Socio-Historical Foundations of Sport
Sociology of Sport Project
Enter Search Words
Search
HWS105: Socio-Historical Foundations of Sport: Sociology of Sport Project
Home
Sociology of Sport Project
APA 7 (New)
How to get Reference Help
Retrieve my Requested Articles (ILL)
The graph
Sports Journalists stereotype athletes by race--and we do too
Women's hockey
A Muslim Athlete Needed Modest Sportswear. Now She Sells It to Others.
Alyssa Milano's Got the Winning Touch
The Collective Economy Part II: Her Fandom, Her Buying Power
STHM study shows how Black college athletes alter self-presentation to avoid biases
Self-Presentation and Black Male College Athletes at Historically White Institutions
THE NEW FACES REDEFINING WOMEN’S SPORTS FANS
Links
In 30 Years, Little Progress for U.S. Sports Leagues on Leadership Diversity
Library version of NYT article
TIDES: The Institute for Diversity and Ethics in Sport
Racial and gender report card: The Institute for Diversity and Ethics in Sport
Encyclopedia resources
Routledge History of American Sport
Articles on racial and ethnic identity and sport
Race & Ethnicity from "Key Concepts in Sports Studies"
Sociology of Sports (video)
Finding the stuff
SPORTDiscus
This link opens in a new window
A sports-specific database. Don't get freaked out that most of it isn't full-text. Just use the Find It button to request a copy and we'll email it to you in about 2 days.
SocINDEX
This link opens in a new window
A sociology specific database, it contains just the scholarly articles about sociology and criminal justice topics.
Library Catalog
Want to find books or films about your topic? Check out the library catalog to see what's available.
Academic Search
This link opens in a new window
A general catch-all database for all topics. A good place to start, but don't forget it has a lot of non-scholarly stuff in it.
Search Tips
Use the sports words to search in the SocINDEX database and the sociology words to search in SPORTDiscus.
Check your spelling. Most of these search engines won't spell check for you
The more words you search for the fewer results you'll get. So if you don't have enough results, take a search term away...don't add more!
Create a list of keywords you've used that work, so when you search the next database you remember.
NBA
Black NBA players have shorter careers than white players
TIDES NBA
From fasting to pregame prayers: how religion shapes the NBA
Inside the NBA Bubble: how Black players performed better without fans
WNBA
At the WNBA, the Fight for Racial Justice Goes Way Back: in her words
There’s A Double Standard In The WNBA & It’s Not Angel Reese’s — Or Caitlin Clark’s — Fault
TIDES WNBA
The WNBA Is Bigger Than Ever. Its Race Problem Is Only Growing
NFL
The NFL Will Stop Assuming Racial Differences When Assessing Brain Injuries
Race and Socioeconomic Composition of the High Schools of National Football League Players.
The Paradox of Integration: Racial Composition of NFL Positions from 1960 to 2020
TIDES NFL
MLS
Evidence of implicit racial bias in MLS officiating prompts questions about American soccer culture
TIDES MLS
How MLS is trying to eradicate player-on-player racial abuse
MLS understands need for more Black US soccer players
When will MLS break the gender barrier and hire a woman as a coach?
MLB
Is There a Racial Dividing Line in Present-Day Baseball Clubhouses?
How Much Do Minor League Baseball Players Make?
Can two young Orthodox Jewish players juggle pro baseball and religion?
As the World Series approaches, baseball still struggles with racial bias
TIDES MLB
Sports media
'Crafty" Vs. 'Sneaky': How Racial Bias In Sports Broadcasting Hurts Everyone
ESPN Employees Say Racism Endures Behind the Camera
Mark Jones discusses importance of historic all-Black NBA game broadcast
<<
Previous:
Home
Next:
APA 7 (New) >>
