Skip to main content

NRS415: Nursing Care of the Adult Population II: Government Websites

Government Websites

Federal and State governments produce a lot of information that is useful in doing research in the areas of health, medicine, and nutrition. The following agency resources are worth exploring.

Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS)
The DHS project collects and analyses data from surveys on population, health, HIV, nutrition, and more conducted in over 75 countries. An excellent source for statistics and comparative data. Funded by USAID.

Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Check out the FDA Consumer, a periodical published by the FDA. There is a link at the bottom of the FDA's home page. St. Olaf also has the hardcopy of this journal in the government documents collection.

Healthfinder.gov
A source of health information from the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.

Health Literacy:

free online course "Effective Communication Tools for Healthcare Professionals"

Medline Medical Encyclopedia
Online encyclopedia with illustrations and photographs, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine.

MEDLINEplus
"MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news."

National Cancer Institute
Created and sponsored by the National Cancer Institute, this web resource provides a wide range of information on treatment options and clinical trials in various formats including articles and statistics. Also included are conference highlights, coping resources, news stories, research opportunities, and cancer and drug dictionaries.

National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)
Contains direct links to NCEH data, resources, programs and campaigns, publications and products, emergency response, and training.

National Institute of Aging
Contains information on virtually all aspects of aging. Four sections focus on "Health Information," "Research Information," "Grants & Training," and "News & Events."

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
Dedicated to improving the health and health care of Americans through funding of nursing research and research training.

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

National Library of Medicine (NLM)
The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest medical library. The Library collects materials and provides information and research services in all areas of biomedicine and health care.

Prevention Online (PREVLINE)
The online presence for the National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI). PREVLINE features a wide range of quality online information on drugs and alcohol.

ToxLearn
Toxicology learnming modules from the NLM.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.