LibGuides: NRS307: Nursing Care of the Adult Population I: Finding Sources

In class activity

In class worksheet
Make sure to click the checkbox at the bottom of the form to receive a copy of your responses
Building a search string activity

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare including references to books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments. Although a bibliographic database, includes selected original and full-text material.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
A specialized medical and nursing resource for systematic reviews of evidence, considered the "gold standard" for Evidence Based Practice. Use the Search tab to search by keywords OR use the Browse tab & select By Topic.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical literature with some nursing journals. Often not full-text.
Search feature available free online after graduation. UD's PubMed link connects to subscription full-text when available (Find It button in upper right).

Use the subject headings (i.e. Headings, MeSH [Medical Subject Headings]) to find out the official terminology.
Advanced Search limit options include: Articles in which any author is a nurse, nursing journal subset, patient demographics (age, sex)
Use "Find It" button to find full-text
Child*: Finds child, children, childhood, etc.
*natal: Finds prenatal, antenatal, postnatal, etc.
Quotation marks: Finds phrases e.g. “acute pain” ; (AND is the default)
Plurals: Are found automatically, e.g. hand finds hand or hands

Need help searching the databases? No worries! Here are a few tutorials to help navigate your searches: