It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Critics are considered experts in their field. In this case, the field is art history. Here are a few guidelines that qualifies someone as an expert:
A person that has a degree in their field (in most cases this will be a Ph.D.)
A person that continually studies and publishes about aspects in their field
Opinions and ideas expressed in publications are supported by research or evidence
Publications by this person are published scholarly articles and are peer-reviewed (checked for accuracy by other members in their field)
Here are a few things to try when searching:
Start by searching the title of your work:
Use the exact title
Remember to use quotes around the title. This gives you more accurate results by pulling articles that include its title somewhere. Keep in mind that databases aren't perfect--you may have to sort through some of your results to find what you're looking for.
Not getting the correct adaptation or version? Try searching for title and author/writer.
Not able to find anything by searching for title? Try expanding your search and looking for the writer's name or the movement/era they are associated with. You may be able to find information about your particular work within a source that talks about the artists and or the movement in general.
JSTOR I - IX and the Life Sciences Collections provide full text access to core journals in the social sciences, the humanities, and the sciences as well as journals in biology, ecology, health, geography, law, mathematics, and statistics. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines. 4,365 titles indexed (3,228 peer-reviewed) and 3,432 full-text (2,568 peer-reviewed). Updated daily. Limited coverage before 1990.
MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.