LibGuides: PSY333: Research Methods in the Behavior Sciences: Research Resources

Databases: Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The Credo database includes many psychology encyclopedias. A great place to look for background information about your topic before digging a little deeper.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier includes scholarly and non-scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics, including psychology. If there is no full text link, click "Find It" links to request the full text via interlibrary loan.
JSTOR
JSTOR includes scholarly and non-scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics, including psychology. All full text articles.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics.
*NOTE: You have access to more within Google Scholar than the general public because of your affiliation with UD. To sync up with the UD library, go to the menu, "settings," "library links," type and select "University of Dubuque," and click save. When you conduct a search, certain articles will now have a "Find It" link which will either take you to the full text or to a page where you can request the article through interlibrary loan.

Helpful Links

American Psychological Association
The American Psychological Association (APA) is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States.
National Institute of Mental Health
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) offers authoritative information about mental disorders, a range of related topics, and the latest mental health research.
Association for Psychological Science
The Association for Psychological Science (APS) is the leading international organization dedicated to advancing scientific psychology across disciplinary and geographic borders.
PsychCentral
Psych Central is an independent mental health information and news website. Psych Central is overseen by mental health professionals that provide up-to-date, evidence-based, credible information regarding psychology.
Academic Writer Tutorial APA 7th Edition
This step-by-step tutorial will help you understand and implement the following basic elements of APA Style: 1. paper elements, format, and organization 2. academic writing style 3. grammar and usage 4. bias-free language guidelines 5.mechanics of style 6. tables and figures 7. in-text citations, paraphrasing, and quotations 8. reference list format and order

PSYC 495 - in class

Research Log

Databases: Psychology Specific

PsycINFO
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. If there is no full text link, click "find a copy" to request the full text via interlibrary loan.
SocINDEX
SocINDEX includes scholarly and non-scholarly articles on sociology topics, which may overlap with psychology topics. If there is no full text link, click "Find It" links to request the full text via interlibrary loan.

PubMed
PubMed is composed of medical literature, including psychological aspects. Access PubMed through this guide or a UD library page to get access to additional articles. If there is no full text link, click the red "Find It" link in upper right hand corner of the abstract page to request via interlibrary loan.

Finding Books & Journals

Are you looking for a book or eBook relating to your research topic? Use the search bar below to search the Charles C. Myers Library's Catalog for sources!

Don't forget, you don't need to use the whole book. Want to use just a chapter? Let us scan it for you. Fill out a Request for E-delivery form, located at the Reference or Circulation (Front) Desk in the library and bring it and the book up back to the front (circulation) desk and we'll scan it and email it to you. Remember: do not turn in this slip without the book!

Looking for Journal Articles on psychology topics? Use our Journal Finder to find journals covering the field of psychology.

PSY333: Research Methods in the Behavior Sciences: Research Resources

Databases: Background Information

Helpful Links

PSYC 495 - in class

Databases: Psychology Specific

Finding Books & Journals

UD Catalog