LibGuides: Biology Research Guide: General : Finding Sources

Databases: Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources to find definitions, statistics, images, etc.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier includes scholarly and non-scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics, including nursing and medical topics. If there is no full text link, click "Find It" links to request the full text via interlibrary loan.
JSTOR
JSTOR includes scholarly and non-scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics, including the health sciences. All full text articles.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics.
*NOTE: You have access to more within Google Scholar than the general public because of your affiliation with UD. To sync up with the UD library, go to the menu, "settings," "library links," type and select "University of Dubuque," and click save. When you conduct a search, certain articles will now have a "Find It" link which will either take you to the full text or to a page where you can request the article through interlibrary loan.

Finding Books & Journals

Are you looking for a book or eBook relating to your research topic? Use the search bar below to search the Charles C. Myers Library's Catalog for sources!

Don't forget, you don't need to use the whole book. Want to use just a chapter? Let us scan it for you. Fill out a Request for E-delivery form, located at the Reference or Circulation (Front) Desk in the library and bring it and the book up back to the front (circulation) desk and we'll scan it and email it to you. Remember: do not turn in this slip without the book!

Looking for Journal Articles on nursing and health related topics? Use our Journal Finder to find journals covering the medical fields .

Databases: Biology Specific

BioOne This link opens in a new window
Search a broad selection of the full-texts, peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by American Institute of Biologial Sciences (AIBS) member societies and other closely related organizations.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: 1) The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE; 2) Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; 3) Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

PLOS One
PLOS ONE is an inclusive journal community working together to advance science for the benefit of society, now and in the future. PLOS ONE accepts research in over two hundred subject areas across science, engineering, medicine, and the related social sciences and humanities.

Other Science Databases

Science, Technology and Health Database List
If you're not finding a database that fits your research needs, here is the link to all UD's science and health related databases!

Biology Research Guide: General : Finding Sources

Databases: Background Information

Finding Books & Journals

UD Catalog

Databases: Biology Specific

Other Science Databases