Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Classical Christian Doctrine by
Call Number: BT 23 .H45 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-15
This clear and concise text helps readers grasp the doctrines of the Christian faith considered basic from the earliest days of Christianity.
A Concise History of Christian Doctrine by
Call Number: Electronic Book (Use link above)
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
An introduction to the core Christian doctrines, the historical context in which they arose, and their ongoing importance to contemporary Christian belief and practice.
The Cambridge Companion to Christian Doctrine by
Call Number: BT80 .C29 1997
Publication Date: 1997-06-19
What is Christian doctrine? The fourteen specially commissioned essays in this book serve to give an answer to many aspects of that question.
Practicing Christian Doctrine by
Call Number: BT 75.3.J66 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
This introductory theology text explains key concepts in Christian doctrine and shows that doctrine is integrally linked to the practical realities of Christian life. In order to grow into more faithful practitioners of Christianity, we need to engage in the practice of learning doctrine and understanding how it shapes faithful lives.
Don't forget, you don't need to use the whole book. Want to use just a chapter? Let us scan it for you. Fill out this form and bring it and the book up to the front (circulation) desk and we'll scan it and email it to you.
Finding Articles: Suggested Databases
Academic Search Premier
A general, catch-all database. This is may be a great place to start, as it might provide articles that discuss doctrines without being too heavy in specialized language.
This is similar to Academic Search Premier. JSTOR tends to be more humanities focused so you may find more doctrine-focused articles here. Again, just make sure they are written in terms and language that's understandable so you can properly incorporate them into your paper!
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
A database that is strictly focused on religious topics.
Searches multiple EBSCO religion databases: ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials, and Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.
- Try searching for your specific doctrine and Christian Doctrine. Placing quotes around your keywords or phrases will ensure that the database or library catalog finds those specific words or phrases in the results.
- A sample search would look like this: "Justification" AND "Christian Doctrine"
- Start with the library catalog & general databases first (Academic Search Premier & JSTOR), then move onto the more specialized databases if you can't find anything.
- If you find a book about the Christian Doctrine in general, use the index in the back of the book to see if it includes information about your specific doctrine.
- Make sure to double check your spelling if you're not getting results The databases won't pull results if something is misspelled.
- The more words you search for the fewer results you'll get. So if you don't have enough results, take a search term away...don't add more!
- Create a list of keywords you've used that work, so when you search the next database you remember.
Finding an article full-text from a citation
- Determine what kind of source it is. Is it a book chapter? A journal article? (Easiest way to do this is to look for a volume or issue number. Then you know it's a journal article!)
- If it is a book, look in the catalog to see if we own it. If we don't, you need to Interlibrary Loan it. Do so by checking the "Libraries Worldwide" link on the left, and clicking "Request Copy."
- If it is an article, use the Journal List to search for the journal title to see which database it is in. If we don't own it, use Find It to request the title. If it's not in a database, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article.