LibGuides: LGBTQ Resources: Research

Non-Fiction Books

Listen, We Need to Talk by Brian F. Harrison; Melissa R. Michelson
Call Number: HQ76.8.U5 H38 2017
ISBN: 9780190654740
Publication Date: 2017-02-20
Blind to Sameness by Asia Friedman
Call Number: BF 692.2 .F75 2013
Blind to Sameness answers provocative questions about the relationships between sex differences, biology, and visual perception. Both groups speak from unique perspectives that magnify the social construction of dominant visual conceptions of sex, allowing Friedman to examine the visual construction of the sexed body and highlighting the processes of social perception underlying our everyday experience of male and female bodies.
The Gay Metropolis by Charles Kaiser
Call Number: HQ 76.3 .U52 N486 2007
"The Gay Metropolis" is a compelling social and political history of modern gay life in America. Charles Kaiser is the first author to devote equal attention to the personal and the political, alternating between the intimate stories of people as famous as Leonard Bernstein and Gore Vidal and as little known as Sandy Kern, a young Brooklyn woman who first heard the word lesbian when a neighbor spied her with an arm around her girlfriend at the end of a wartime blackout. It covers the major social, political, and cultural events that have affected the way gay people view themselves and how they have been treated by the larger society.
The Glass Closet: Why Coming Out is Good Business by John Browne
Call Number: HF5549.5.S47 B76 2014
"I wish I had been brave enough to come out earlier during my tenure as the chief executive of BP. I regret it to this day. I know that if I had done so, I would have made more of an impact for other gay men and women. It is my hope that the stories in this book will give some of them the courage to make an impact of their own." --John Browne
The Heart Has Its Reasons by Michael Cart; Christine A. Jenkins
Call Number: PS 374 .H63 C37 2006
Society does not make it easy for young people, regardless of their sexual orientation, to find accurate, nonjudgmental information about homosexuality. It makes it even more difficult for young homosexuals to find positive role models in fiction either written and published expressly for them or - if published for adults - relevant to them and their lives.
Love Is an Orientation by Andrew Marin
Call Number: BR 115 .H6 M355 2009
Love Is an Orientation, a work which elevates the conversation between Christianity and the GLBT community, moving the focus from genetics to gospel, where it really belongs. Love Is an Orientation is changing the conversation about sexuality and spirituality, and building bridges from the GLBT community to the Christian community and, more importantly, to the good news of Jesus Christ.
The Meaning of Matthew by Judy Shepard
Call Number: HV 6250.4 .H66 S54 2009
The Meaning of Mathew follows the Shepard family in the days immediately after the crime, when Judy and her husband traveled to see their incapacitated son, kept alive by life support machines; how the Shepards learned of the incredible response from strangers all across America who held candlelit vigils and memorial services for their child; and finally, how they struggled to navigate the legal system as Matthew's murderers were on trial.
My Two Moms by Zach Wahls; Bruce Littlefield
Call Number: HQ 777.8 .W34 2012
On January 31, 2011, Zach Wahls addressed the Iowa House Judiciary Committee in a public forum regarding full marriage equality. The nineteen-year-old son of a same-sex couple, Wahls proudly proclaimed, "The sexual orientation of my parents has had zero effect on the content of my character." Hours later, his speech was posted on YouTube, where it went viral, quickly receiving more than two million views. By the end of the week, everyone knew his name and wanted to hear more from the boy with two moms.
Second Son by Ryan Sallans
Call Number: On order
Second Son is a story that intimately explores the transition experience of Ryan Salllans, born Kimberly Ann Sallans. The reader is pulled through Ryan's transition from infant to child, child to body-obsessed teenage girl, teenage girl to eating-disordered young woman, female to male, daughter to son, and finally a beloved partner to a cherished fiance'.
Redefining Realness by Janet Mock
Call Number: HQ77.8.M63 A3 2014
In her profound and courageous New York Times bestseller, Janet Mock establishes herself as a resounding and inspirational voice for the transgender community--and anyone fighting to define themselves on their own terms. With unflinching honesty and moving prose, Janet Mock relays her experiences of growing up young, multiracial, poor, and trans in America, offering readers accessible language while imparting vital insight about the unique challenges and vulnerabilities of a marginalized and misunderstood population.
The Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health by Harvey J. Makadon; Kenneth H. Mayer; Jennifer Potter; Hilary Goldhammer; American College of Physicians (2003- ) Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781938921001
Publication Date: 2015-01-01

Websites

The world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history.

This digital archive provides free access to transgender and gender non-conforming historical materials online.

The Fenway Institute's Center for Population Health Research in LGBT Health develops research and programs in support of better understanding and improving the health of sexual and gender minorities. They provide data resources through their Population Research in Sexual Minority Health (PRISM) Data Archive.

Trans-Academics.org

Trans-Academics.org is an online trans-friendly community where people of all genders can discuss gender theory. They provide a searchable trans-specific Reference Library.

Databases

JSTOR

JSTOR provides full text access to core journals in the social sciences, the humanities, and the sciences. Since many of the journals in JSTOR are older, be sure to use the search term "homosexuals" as well as gays and lesbians.

Subject Specific:

The authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. Use the Headings link at the top of the page to find the subject headings (i.e. GLBT Persons).

ERIC

ERIC indexes records for journal and non-journal education literature available since 1966. Use the Thesaurus at the top of the page to find the subject terms. ERIC uses outdated terms like "Homosexuality" for gay and lesbian topics.

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography contains journal articles, books and dissertations from all over the world dating back to 1963. Enter terms into the Subject Guide Search box to find the database's preferred terms (i.e. Bisexual Writers).

PsycINFO

PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Click the Thesaurus link above the search box, select PsycINFO from the popup box, enter search terms, select the relevant term(s), and click "add to search." Getting an error?

PubMed

PubMed indexes journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Select "MeSH" from the dropdown to the left of the search box and enter your search term to find the medical subject heading. Unfortunately, MeSH headings are outdated so we have to search "Homosexuality, Female" instead of "lesbian" and "Homosexuality, Male" instead of "gay" in PubMed.

SocINDEX

SocINDEX is a sociology-specific database that encompasses all sub-disciplines of sociology and closely related areas of study. Use the Subject Terms link at the top of the page to find the database's preferred terms (i.e. LGBT college students).

SPORTDiscus

SPORTDiscus indexes both scholarly and popular literature related to sports and fitness. Use the Thesaurus at the top of the page to find the subject terms (i.e. LGBT athletes).

Finding Books

Don't forget, you don't need to use the whole book. Want to use just a chapter? Let us scan it for you. Fill out this form and bring it and the book up to the front (circulation) desk and we'll scan it and email it to you.

Need help reading a call number? Check out this guide.

Films on Demand Documentaries with an LGBTQ focus

Tal Como Somos
Off and Running

Non-Fiction Films

Do I Sound Gay? by David Thorpe
Call Number: Media HQ76 .D5945 2015 DVD
Publication Date: 2015
Stonewall Uprising by Kate Davis
Call Number: Media HQ 76.8 .U6 S76 2011 DVD
ISBN: 9781608834006
Publication Date: 2011

Anyone and Everyone
Call Number: Media HQ 759.91 .A59 2007 DVD
Connected by having a son or daughter who is gay, parents across the country discuss their experiences & share intimate accounts of how their children revealed that they're homosexual and discuss their responses. The parents also talk about struggling with the pain their sons and daughters have dealt with.
The Matthew Shepard Story
Call Number: Media Drama Matthew 2010
In a senseless act of hatred, openly gay college student Matthew Shepard was murdered in 1998. This critically-acclaimed, moving film recounts the final days of Matthew's killers' trial -- and the weeks leading to Matthew's death -- with unnerving detail.
Milk
Call Number: Media Drama Milk 2009
His life changed history, his courage changed lives. Harvey Milk is a middle-aged New Yorker who, after moving to San Francisco, becomes a Gay Rights activist and city politician, the first openly-gay man to be elected to public office in the United States. The following year, both he and the city's mayor, George Moscone, are shot to death by former city supervisor, Dan White, who blames his former colleagues for denying White's attempt to rescind his resignation from the board.
No Dumb Questions
Call Number: Media HQ 77.9 .N6 2009 DVD
The program follows three sisters, ages 6, 9, and 11, as they struggle to understand why and how Uncle Bill is becoming Aunt Barbara.
Stonewall Uprising
Call Number: Media HQ 76.8 .U6 S76 2011 DVD
Explores the dramatic event that launched a worldwide rights movement. When police raided a Mafia-run gay bar in Greenwich Village, the Stonewall Inn on June 28, 1969, gay men and women did something they had not done before: they fought back. As the streets of New York erupted into violent protests and street demonstrations, the collective anger announced that the gay rights movement had arrived.
Training rules no drinking, no drugs, no lesbians
Call Number: Media GV 708.8 .T73 2010 DVD
A look at how homophobia among women's college sports destroyed the dreams and careers of some of the country's top athletes. Follows Penn State women's basketball champ Jennifer Harris as she takes on the institutionalized homophobia of coach Rene Portland.
Trans
Call Number: Media HQ 77.7 .T736 2012 DVD
TRANS is an up-close and very personal journey into the transgender world through the memorable stories and the unusual lives of a remarkable cast of characters. These are the stories of boys and girls, men and woman ... and all the shades in between. Stories of extraordinary people who face fear, discrimination, ignorance and violence in the hopes they might one day be able to live ... ordinary lives.

LGBTQ Resources: Research