Thirty-five teaching practitioners in higher education collaborated to provide this resource about the accommodation process for students with disabilities in the college classroom. It provides the educator with concrete teaching strategies for addressing the individual needs of students and a model illustrating the components necessary for student success.
This book describes the unique needs that ASD students entering further or higher education are likely to have. The author identifies the key skill-sets they will need to develop in order to be successful in college and in life, and shows how they can be helped to develop these.
With increasing numbers of students with invisible disabilities attending college and university, faculty and staff find themselves faced with new challenges. This practical handbook provides lecturers, tutors, disability services, and administrative staff with an overview of the invisible disabilities they may encounter, dispelling common myths and offering practical advice to support the needs of these students.
Leiter argues that there are crucial missing links between federal disability policies and youths' lives. Her argument is based on thorough examination of federal disability policy and interviews with young people with disabilities, their parents, and rehabilitation professionals. Attention is given to the diversity of expectations, the resources available to them, and the impact of federal policy and public and private attitudes on their transition to adulthood.
College Success for Students with Learning Disabilities offers students the confidence, strategies, and guidance they need to effectively choose a college, get prepared for university life, and make the most of their collegiate experience. The book covers pertinent topics such as understanding the rights and responsibilities of students with special needs, talking to professors and peers, getting involved, asking for and receiving accommodations, and utilizing one's strengths to meet and exceed academic standards.
Written by two Ivy League graduates who struggled with learning disabilities and ADHD, this book teaches students how to take control of their education and find true success with brilliant and easy study suggestions and tips. Witty, bold, and disarmingly honest,this book takes you on a journey toward personal empowerment and profound educational change, proving once again that rules sometimes need to be broken.
This useful book provides a complete overview of the issues such students and their families will need to consider, and outlines the key skills they will need in order to succeed once they get there. The authors describe the legal landscape as it applies to students with disabilities in the USA, and how to obtain the proper disability documentation to ensure that the student receives the right support and accommodations in college.
When she was finally diagnosed with severe dyslexia at age 32, Tessler's word fluency tested on a third-grade level. Yet, in spite of the challenges, she earned a Ph.D. and became a clinical psychologist. This is her brave and honest account of her lifelong struggles with dyslexia, interspersed with compassionate advice and practical strategies.
Filled with strategies, and resources, this book uses the author's groundbreaking research about successful adults with learning disabilities, to promote self-advocacy. This work is brimming with useful and practical information.
Making the transition from high school to college is a daunting task for any student, and the challenge is even greater for students with learning disabilities. This guide promotes self-advocacy and helps learning disabled students get what they need from the college experience.
Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) fields attract many students with invisible disabilities who are highly intelligent and analytical, but who, upon entering higher education, may find that they struggle with independent living and a different way of learning.This is a preparation guide for students and their families that explains everything they need to know about the university experience including classroom behavior, study skills, self-reliance, accessing support services, and when parents should and shouldn't get involved.
Leaving home and moving to college can be a daunting experience. In this easy-to-use book, Martin provides guidelines and invaluable advice for every student on the Autism Spectrum as he or she thinks about, and plans for, entry into student life. Packed with tried and tested methods for coping and succeeding away from home that cover every aspect of student life, this book focuses on the particular needs of people with AS - from how to get up on time for lectures, to the art of living with other people and attending to the basics of personal hygiene - and encourages everyone to make the most of student life in a style that suits them.
Literacy support software to help with reading and writing. The easy-to-use, customizable toolbar “floats” on your computer screen, or docks to a locked position. It highlights and reads text aloud and includes a comprehensive set of support tools for reading, writing, studying, and test-taking. Available on UD computers and for download. Contact the Academic Success Center for more information.
Online, self-paced program with listening & speaking that does not carry any academic credit. 25 languages available, including English. Provided by Charles C. Myers Library at no additional cost to current UD faculty, staff, and students. For more information or to sign up (first-come, first-served), see: http://www.dbq.edu/library/rosettastone/.
Short instructional video (1:29) about how to have EBSCO databases, including Academic Search Premier, read aloud. A translate option is also available for articles that are HTML full-text within the database.