Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Don't forget, you don't need to use the whole book. Want to use just a chapter? Let us scan it for you. Fill out this form and bring it and the book up to the front (circulation) desk and we'll scan it and email it to you.
Need help reading a call number? Check out this guide.
Library search engines (databases) are a great place to find scholarly journal articles or other sources for your paper. Each search engine has a different flavor/subject area it covers. If the full text isn’t right there, click the Find It button. If we don’t have the article, you can request it from another library by clicking the “get this article or book chapter” link. (The turnaround time on this is usually about 2 days.)
This is a database that includes a bunch of encyclopedias and dictionaries. A great place to look for background information about your topic before digging a little deeper.
An online version of Encyclopedia Britannica. Contains encyclopedia entries, some images and a few videos. Great for basic background information.
A general catch-all database for all topics. A good place to start, but don't forget it has a lot of non-scholarly stuff in it.
Another general database. This doesn't have subject headings and only searches full-text. The more words you search the fewer results you'll get.
The social sciences aren't the only subjects that get their own specialized library databases. Check out these search engines. Some of them will look different than the ones you've used before. It's ok. You can handle it. Just look for the search box. You know what to do from there.
A humanities-focused database. There are also some film and performing arts articles included too.
ATLA Religion Database
Have a religion topic? This is a good place to stop.
This database is great for film/movie topics. It's also a pretty decent general humanities one.
This is an online image library. Great for finding detailed descriptions of artworks, or the information you need to cite them.
Finding Articles--Social Sciences
So you've decided to venture beyond ASP and JSTOR? Congrats!! We promise these social science specific databases are just as easy to master! In fact most of them look exactly like ASP! Exciting, no? All of the search engines listed below are centered around a particular subject area. Pick the one that best fits your topic.
A sociology specific database, it contains just the scholarly articles about sociology and criminal justice topics.
A sports-specific database. Don't get freaked out that most of it isn't full-text. Just use the Find It button to request a copy and we'll email it to you in about 2 days.
Finding Articles--Natural and Applied Sciences
You know the drill by now. Specialized databases really are the way to go. So get going!
The authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare including references to books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments. Although a bibliographic database, CINAHL includes selected original and full-text material.
In class activity
Now that you've done some searching, tell us how it went. What did you find, what worked well? What do you still have questions about? We'll do our best to reply to all the questions you still have.