LibGuides: BIO357: Animal Nutrition: Paper Tips

Search Tips

Search by the animal's (Latin) scientific name. If you're not sure what it is, search by common (English) name in Catalogue of Life. Consider using quotation marks around the scientific name, which will search for the phrase.

Also add a keyword related to nutrition. A few ideas:

Nutrition
Diet
Prey
Predation
Food

Example keyword searches in a library database:

Lynx pardinus diet in BioOne = 27 results

Lynx pardinus diet in Academic Search Premier = 5 results

Lynx pardinus diet in JSTOR = 62 results

Lynx pardinus diet in PubMed = 4 results

Sending Links from Databases

Important Tips: If you are copying/pasting links to articles from a library database, DON'T use the link from the web browser address bar. Use the permalink or persistent URL provided in the database. This won't time out & will work both on- and off-campus.

Always include a citation with any link in case there is a problem. And downloading/saving the pdf is always the best option.

Pick a Topic

Be flexible regarding your selected species. You may need to broaden or narrow your topic, depending on what scientists are researching and publishing. If necessary, broaden or narrow based on the Scientific Classification taxonomy. Determine other related species by searching for your species in the Catalogue of Life and selecting the Genus or Family name.

Find Articles

Scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles are not usually available free online. They are expensive, so use the library's subscriptions, which you already paid for! Search by topic using the databases suggested below. Be sure to see the search tips listed on the left side of this guide.

Remember, more results doesn't always mean better results. Specialized databases such as BioOne are the best source for scholarly articles in your discipline.

BioOne This link opens in a new window
Search a broad selection of the full-texts, peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by American Institute of Biologial Sciences (AIBS) member societies and other closely related organizations.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines. 4,365 titles indexed (3,228 peer-reviewed) and 3,432 full-text (2,568 peer-reviewed). Updated daily. Limited coverage before 1990.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR I - IX and the Life Sciences Collections provide full text access to core journals in the social sciences, the humanities, and the sciences as well as journals in biology, ecology, health, geography, law, mathematics, and statistics. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: 1) The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE; 2) Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; 3) Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

Have a citation already?

Find a citation for an article through a Google or Google Scholar search? Don't pay for it, like the publisher might want you to! UD can get you nearly any article (free to you), even if we don't own the journal.

From the citation, determine what kind of source it is. Is it a book chapter? A journal article? If it is an article, use the Journal List to search for the journal title to see which database it is in. If you don't see a full-text link (HTML or PDF for download) in the database, use the Find It button/link provided to request the article. If it's not in a database, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article.

Need help? Just ask!