Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding the articles
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
A sports-specific database. Don't get freaked out that most of it isn't full-text. Just use the Find It button to request a copy and we'll email it to you in about 2 days.
Medical database. Look for full-text. If the article isn't there, use Find It. Or Journal List to make sure we don't have it full-text elsewhere.
Looks and functions just like ASP or SportDISCUS, includes selected original and full-text material about nursing and allied health topics.
A general catch-all database for all topics. May contain some medical or relevant studies, but don't forget it has a lot of non-scholarly stuff in it.
Another general database that has some Health Sciences titles like the British Medical Journal, but keep an eye on dates. Many of these articles are from at least 3 years ago.
How to find an article full-text from a citation
- Determine what kind of source it is. Is it a book chapter? A journal article?
- If it is a book, look in the catalog or WorldCat to see if we own it or if you need to Interlibrary Loan it.
- If it is an article, use the Journal List to search for the journal title to see which database it is in. If we don't own it, use Find It to request the title. If it's not in a database, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article.
Things to look for in articles
Your articles must be original studies. They cannot be metastudies or literature reviews. Don't be afraid to use their bibliographies to help you find more studies.
Remember when you're searching for articles that you'll need to pull them all together for your poster/presentation. Look for similarities in:
- study participants
Tell me how I did
Please feel free to help me out by filling out this form about the library instruction you had in this class. How helpful was it?