Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases to find articles
Another general database. This doesn't have subject headings and only searches full-text. The more words you search the fewer results you'll get.
Tips on Selecting a Scholarly Article
Here are some characteristics of a scholarly article:
- Articles written by professors or researchers
- Designed for students, professors, & researchers
- Articles reviewed in-depth by other researchers before publication
- The articles will also contain a bibliography at the end of the article.
To locate scholarly articles in Academic Search Premier or Business Source Premier:
- Select the "Peer Reviewed" option when on the Advanced Search Screen
- Another option is to select "Journal Article" as a Publication Type on the Advanced Search
- Keep track of your results. Print, save, or email in APA format!
- Use keyword searching (not natural language)
- Use subject terms to narrow
- Use abstracts to determine relevance
- What if full-text isn’t there? Use the "Find It @ UD" link provided to locate the article in another database, have the library scan a copy for you (E-Delivery), or request via Interlibrary Loan if UD doesn't own it.
- Can usually limit by: full-text, type of source (magazine, newspaper, academic/scholarly journal), date, etc.