Skip to Main Content

HWS340: Media Relations: Helpful resources

Databases

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
A sports-specific database. Don't get freaked out that most of it isn't full-text. Just use the Find It button to request a copy and we'll email it to you in about 2 days.

SBRnet (Sport Business Resarch Network)
SBRnet, updated continuously, provides market research and industry news including coverage of sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports attendance, consumer expenditures, sports marketing, sports facilities, licensing, TV and online media reports, trends, recent sports business and marketing news and more.

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is a merger of two key communication indexes: CommSearch and Mass Media Complete. Provides many full-text articles.

SportBusiness Journal
Only available in print in the library.

Academic Search This link opens in a new window
A general catch-all database for all topics. A good place to start, but don't forget it has a lot of non-scholarly stuff in it.

Demographic and community resources for your PR Campaign

Census Quick Facts
Look up your community to find out demographic data.
Explore Census Data
National Arts, Rec, and Travel Stats from Census

Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Find a newspaper local to the community here.

Your city's website
Travel or tourism website for your city

Websites to help you measure impact