Skip to main content

EDU331: Integrating Language Arts & Social Studies (K-6): Non-Print Sources

Ideas for non-print materials

  • Poster
  • Big book
  • Video (streaming or DVD)
  • Game
  • Puzzle
  • Photo
  • Digital library/online archive
  • Puppet
  • Atlas
  • Globe
  • Map
  • Music (streaming, MP3, or CD)

Did you know?

Academic Search Premier database has read-aloud & translation features for some articles!

Credo Reference database has image searching & concept-mapping tools!

Visual & audio library resources

Atlases: many available in the Atlas Stand in the rear of the 1st floor near the windows

ArtStor: More than one million images from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Includes with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.

  • more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
  • Video tutorial: ARTstor Basics (4:52 min) 
- See more at: http://www.dbq.edu/library/findarticles/databasesbytitle/#sthash.B13nvjMt.dpuf
  • more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
  • Video tutorial: ARTstor Basics (4:52 min) 
- See more at: http://www.dbq.edu/library/findarticles/databasesbytitle/#sthash.B13nvjMt.dpuf

Credo Reference: Collection of online encyclopedias. Includes image search & mind map (aka concept map) features.

Films on Demand (streaming): streaming films in many different subject areas. Includes collections from PBS, National Geographic, History Channel, Nova, and many more.

Video tutorial (3:40): http://bit.ly/FODBasics

Games & puzzles: available in Curriculum Library non-print area (CLX call #s). Search library catalog by topic & limit to Curriculum Library Non-Print.

Maps: many available in Map case in the rear of the 1st floor near the windows

over a million type specimens, paintings, drawings
over a million type specimens, paintings, drawings
streaming videos in many different subjects including the humanities, social sciences, science and health, and business. - See more at: http://www.dbq.edu/library/findarticles/databasesbytitle/#c
streaming videos in many different subjects including the humanities, social sciences, science and health, and business. - See more at: http://www.dbq.edu/library/findarticles/databasesbytitle/#c
award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum - See more at: http://www.dbq.edu/library/findarticles/databasesbytitle/#c
award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum - See more at: http://www.dbq.edu/library/findarticles/databasesbytitle/#c
award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum - See more at: http://www.dbq.edu/library/findarticles/databasesbytitle/#c
award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum - See more at: http://www.dbq.edu/library/findarticles/databasesbytitle/#c
award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum - See more at: http://www.dbq.edu/library/findarticles/databasesbytitle/#c

Limit library catalog to non-print

To limit library catalog searches to Curriculum Library Non-Print materials, simply add CLX to your search terms.

It's important to note that you aren't limited only to the Curriculum Library. You can use the maps, atlases, and more that are in the rest of the library collection!