Skip to main content

Curriculum Library Overview: Find Materials

Children's Books, Teaching Aids, Puppets, Games, and lots more!

Curriculum Library Sections

Here’s a quick guide of the Curriculum Library sections and what you’ll find in each of them:

CLX - Non-Print Materials

Games, puzzles, puppets and other manipulatives

CL -  Teaching Aids

Textbooks, teaching manuals and bibliographies

CL 000-999 -  Nonfiction

Topics include science, social studies, and major events (just to name a few!)

CL Biog - Biography

Representing people and their accomplishments from around the world

CL Pic - Picture Books

Includes past Caldecott winners and honors

CL ER - Easy Readers

Popular series including: "I Can Read" or "Step into Reading" 

CL Fic - Fiction

From award winner to classics and everything in between

CL Reference and Bound Periodicals

  Past issues of periodicals, encyclopedias, and children’s dictionaries

Note that Young Adult materials are shelved in the North tower on the 1st floor.

Major authors such as John Green, Suzanne Collins, and Stephen Chobosky are available for checkout

Loan Periods

Materials may be renewed twice if it is not needed by another person or for reserve.

Books & Non-Print Materials (Puzzles, Games, Puppets, etc.)

4 weeks

Magazines, DVDs & Audio Books

2 weeks

Finding Media

To limit library catalog searches to visual materials, use the Advanced Search & limit as shown here. DVD's and audio books are located on the third floor.

Finding Books

Search the library catalog using keywords related to your topic.

UD Catalog

Enter term(s)

Advanced Search

Need a refresher on how to find a book on the shelf? Check out this video.

Finding Non-Print Items

Search the library catalog to find Curriculum Library Non-Print materials.

Non-print items include:

  • Posters
  • Big books
  • Games
  • Puzzles
  • Photos
  • Digital library/online archives
  • Puppets
  • Atlases
  • Globes
  • Music (streaming, MP3, or CD)

Finding Education Articles

  • Academic Search Premier: Includes many scholarly and full text articles. Has many full text, scholarly articles on education and other subjects.
  • ERIC (Education Resources Information Center): Limits to articles on education.
    • Advanced Search allows limiting by level (ie. Early Childhood, specific grade levels, etc.).
    • ERIC is a specialized education database with informative abstracts, but many articles are not full-text.
    • Use "Full-Text from ERIC" link if provided. If not, use red "Find It" button to check other databases. If no other databases have that publication, select From another library to request Interlibrary Loan (free).