It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines. 4,365 titles indexed (3,228 peer-reviewed) and 3,432 full-text (2,568 peer-reviewed). Updated daily. Limited coverage before 1990.
In 2010, the Food and Drug Administration passed a rule revising compelled disclaimers on tobacco products pursuant to the Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act. The rule required that tobacco warnings include something new: all tobacco products now had to bear one of nine graphic images to accompany the text. Tobacco companies filed suit contesting the constitutionality of the rule, arguing that the government violated their right to free commercial speech by compelling disclosure of the graphic content. Yet First Amendment jurisprudence lacks a doctrinally consistent standard for reviewing such compelled disclosures. Courts' analyses typically depend on whether the regulation compels or restricts speech, how far that regulation extends, and why the government chose to regulate in the first place. This Note seeks to articulate a coherent standard--a disclosure-focused approach--for reviewing compelled commercial speech under the First Amendment. Under this disclosure-focused approach, courts would adopt a lenient standard of review for compelled disclosures of factual, uncontroversial information while reserving more exacting scrutiny for restricted speech or compelled ideological disclosures. This approach centers on the structure and content of the regulation rather than the governmental motive. Accordingly, the disclosure-focused approach aligns with the goal of commercial speech protection--namely, maximizing the information available to consumers.
Keep track of your results. Print, save, or email in APA format!
Use keyword searching (not natural language)
Use subject terms to narrow
Use abstracts to determine relevance
What if full-text isn’t there? Use the "Find It @ UD" link provided to locate the article in another database, have the library scan a copy for you (E-Delivery), or request via Interlibrary Loan if UD doesn't own it.
Can usually limit by: full-text, type of source (magazine, newspaper, academic/scholarly journal), date, etc.
The article discusses the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit's ruling in the 2012 case Spirit Airlines Inc. v. U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) which deals with the First Amendment to the nation's Constitution, commercial speech, and the American government's regulation of advertising. Other topics include the constitutional implications of airline industry advertising methods, airline taxes, and the DOT's Airfare Advertising Rule.
The article discusses religious freedom in America and a debate over whether for-profit business enterprises have standing to initiate free exercise of religion-related claims in courts in the U.S. as of April 2013. American corporate laws are addressed, along with a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services mandate which requires employers to cover the costs of contraceptives for employees. The First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution's Free Exercise Clause is mentioned.