Skip to Main Content

Library Resources for Faculty: Accessing Library Resources

Linking EBSCO and ProQuest resources directly in Moodle

Any full-text articles from EBSCO databases or ProQuest databases can be added directly into Moodle so no further log ins are necessary. 

EBSCO products include (but not limited to): 

  • Academic Search Premier
  • Business Source Premier
  • Communications and Mass Media Complete
  • Health Source
  • Humanities Source
  • PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES
  • SocINDEX
  • SPORTDiscus

ProQuest products include:

  • US Major Dailies

Linking to Library Resources

Linking to Library Resources

1.  Find the section of this box that corresponds with the database where you found the resource.

2.  Follow the steps to ensure you copy the right link to ensure access off campus

* In some cases, you will need to manually add a prefix to the provided URL. When indicated, add this prefix to the beginning of the URL: http://ezproxy.dbq.edu:2048/login?url=

Questions? Email your liaison librarian, or reference@dbq.edu

 

EBSCO Databases

1. click on permalink in the right column. 2. Copy/paste the link that appears in the box above the article title

JSTOR

1. Copy/paste the link provided in the left column. 2.Add the UD prefix(listed above) to the beginning of the URL

ProQuest Databases

1. click on all options. 2. copy/paste the link at the top of the box that appears. 3. Add the UD prefix to the beginning of the URL.

Nexis Uni (Formerly Lexis Nexis)

1. click actions. 2. copy/paste the URL in the box that appears. 3. Add the UD prefix to the beginning of the URL.

Films on Demand

1. click the share button. 2. click Embed/link. 3. Copy/paste the link in the Record URL box.

Library Materials and Resources

Fast facts about library resources:

  • The library has over 142,000 print books and many DVDs, including both academic and leisure titles. There is a small collection  print academic journals and magazines and around 130 board games.
  • Online library materials available to all UD faculty, staff, and students include e-books, online journals and databases, streaming films, and over 60 language options from Mango Languages, language learning software.
  • Books check out for the entire semester for faculty. (Due dates in mid-December and mid-May). All other print library materials check out for 2 weeks. The exception are materials on reserve.
  • All online resources are available on- and off-campus, but may require verification using your UD network log-in. Because they need to be routed via our proxy, let a librarian know if you'd like to link to a library resources in your Moodle page to ensure access works off-campus.
  • If we don't own a book or have immediate access to the full-text of an article, we can often get it for you via InterLibrary Loan. We can only interlibrary loan print materials or scans of articles that were published in print. Exceptions include really expensive DVDs, really new and/or popular books, dissertations, and sometimes really obscure journal articles.
  • Have a suggestion for a title? You can contact a librarian directly, or you can use our online suggestion form. (You'll have to create an account so we can notify you about the status of your request.)

Searching library resources

Finding a book on a topic is sometimes easier, and sometimes conversely more difficult than finding a specific book you know the title of. Start with a basic search of the library catalog. The left column will have options to narrow your results. This is an easy way to narrow to just print or e-books. You can also use a subject search to get other books on similar topics that might not use the exact words you searched for.  Once you find a book in the catalog, you need to look at 3 different things to figure out where to find the book.

First: Look at the status (in the blue box)--Is your book Available or Checked out?

Second: Determine what collection (in the purple box)--Which floor is the book on?

Third: Write down the call number (in the green box)--This call number is like the book's address. You need the whole thing.

This book is in the Circulating Collection on the third floor. You know it's the third floor and not the first floor because the Call Number starts with ND which is between L-Z, not A-K. Remember, other books on the same topic should be shelved near this book. It might be a good time to head to the shelves in that section and browse for a book that works for your needs.

If you locate an e-book we own, you can just click "View Ebook" to read it. More about how to use e-books can be found on this guide.

Looking for a specific book or book chapter? Use the library catalog to see if we own it. Use "quotation marks" around the title of the book, and add the author if you know it for generic titles.

Once you find the book in the catalog, use the directions above to use the call number to locate the book or to view the e-book.

If it doesn't appear like we own the book, find the record for the print book in the search results and click on the Availability tab. Click on the Request this Item through InterLibrary Loan/E-Delivery button. This will prompt you to log in using your UD network log in. It should auto fill the information you need, and you just need to click Submit Request at the bottom. We'll email you when your book arrives and you can pick it up.

Looking for an article on a particular topic? Your best bet is to find a subject specific database appropriate to your topic. Our databases are organized by disciplines in our Databases by Subject list. Limiters like date published, subject, resource type, etc. exist on the left column of most of our databases and can help you narrow your search. You might also want to check out the Subjects or Thesaurus for the database you're using to determine the library language used to describe your topic. Need more help or aren't sure where these functions are in your database? Check out this guide that can help you get started.

​If  you have the full or even partial citation (as long as it has the journal title) of an article you want to find, here's the fastest way to get to the full-text. Use the Journal List to search for the journal title to see if the journal is located in the library in print, or which database it is in. Click on that database, use the citation to find the correct issue and then record for the article to find the full-text. If  you get this far, but that article doesn't have full-text access, use the Find It button on that screen to request the full-text. If it's not listed in Journal List, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. (For more help, check out this page about getting to full-text articles.)

Searching the catalog for online resources

Click the check box next to charles c. myers library to limit results to resources available through the UD Library. To view only online resources, click the check boxes for eBook and/or eVideo under Format in the left sidebar. Click "show more" if the desired format isn't visible.