Advancement Research: Home

WealthEngine. Best Practices for Prospect Research in Higher Education Fundraising report (2012). Follow directions to download.

Association of Fundraising Professionals. (2009). Elements of successful prospect research.  (Summary of WealthEngine report upon its first release.)

Chronicle of Higher Education:

• website version: access login information via Password Central
• database version: selected dates
• print version: 1 year retained in library, available for checkout. Located on Current Periodical shelves (1st floor), alphabetically by publication title. Lift up slanted shelves for back issues.

Chronicle of Philanthropy:

• database version: selected dates

Freedom of Information Act (federal) and state Open Records/Open Meetings laws govern access to some documents.

Example: http://www.state.ia.us/government/ag/open_government/Open_and_Sunshine.html

Barron's

• Print version: 1 year retained in library, available for checkout. Located on Current Periodical shelves (1st floor), alphabetically by publication title. Lift up slanted shelves for back issues.

Dubuque Telegraph Herald

• Website version: access login information via Password Central
• Database version: selected dates
• Print version: 1 month retained in library. Located on Newspaper shelves (1st floor near windows), alphabetically by publication title.
• Archive version: All the way back, only available on campus courtesy of Carnegie Stout Public Library

Forbes

• Database version: selected dates
• Print version: 1995-current, available for checkout. Current issue located on Current Periodical shelves (1st floor), alphabetically by publication title. Lift up slanted shelves for some back issues. Previous issues located in Couchman Reading Room or lower level, depending on date.

See also database links above. To determine if UD has access to a particular periodical (magazine/newspaper/journal), use the library's Journal List.

Availability & location of records may differ by location (county/state), date, etc. Some records may not be available electronically & will require visiting and/or calling.

State/County Records

The following may be available in county offices of the Recorder, Auditor, Assessor, and/or Treasurer:

• Available records may include vital records such as birth/death/marriage certificates as well as mortgage/property records, tax payment histories, etc.
• Iowa Bureau of Public Health summary of Iowa public record availability
• Some states have sites that combine county information or summarize how various public documents are available. Example: https://iowalandrecords.org
• Examples:
• Dubuque County Recorder records search
• Dubuque County Assessor property search

Business Records

• Business searches should be available through Secretary of State websites for most states. Example: Business Entities search
• SEC EDGAR search: filings for publicly-traded companies
• See also business databases above.

Court Records

• Some states may have court records searchable online. Example: Iowa Courts Online

Ancestry.com (subscription available at Carnegie Stout Public Library building)

Heritage Quest Online (subscription available through Carnegie Stout Public Library)

Newspaper Archive (requires paid subscription)

See additional resources from Carnegie Stout Public Library.

Google Advanced Search allows limiting by URL domain name (.gov, .com, etc.), format, language, last update, and more.

Other web searching tips:

*Try name variations when searching for individuals. Ex. Results differ for Marianne Smith vs. Mari Smith vs. Marianne Joy Smith

*For common names, add a middle name or keyword related to field of work or city/state of residence. Ex: Marianne Smith Dubuque

*Also search for information by business or organization name.